Journal logo

When the well runs dry

Don't be afraid to step away

By Rose ShortPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

W​ the holidays and the new puppies and everything else going on this last week, I decided to do something I don't do. I took the weekend off, .

N​ow, it's not that uncommon to not have an open house or a full day of showings scheduled. The entire team has been taking some time to recharge and enjoy some off before February hits and the market revs back up. My clients have also been spending time with their families, leaving my schedule wide open. While I would love to have a new listing every week to promote and sell, I'm not there yet.

Americans, in general, do not take time off as often as we should. This is also why we have a high rate of burnout and depression. This is also why nearly impossible to get anything done the last two weeks of the year because so people put all their vacation into this time. Time off is important for reasons: reset, unwind, take a mental break, work on family or relationship strains, and often, a good cure for breaking that "stuck in a rut" feeling.

N​ow to be fair, we never feel like we are "in a rut" when are going well. always used in a negative connotation, which I think is slightly unfair to the phrase. In the interest of balance, a negative should have an equal positive. I suppose "winning streak" or "on fire" are close, but those seem to relay a shorter . I think this highlights how humans can fixate on the mundane and depressing rather than the wins.

S​o if we don't use our time off, how do you break out of a rut?

W​ell, it starts with evaluating why you are in a rut . a fine line between, give something a chance to work and, stop doing what doesn't work, if you are running your own business. If you decide that what you have been trying is not working, it's easy to beat yourself up and sink deeper into despair. , be open-minded, and make a new plan. What was the old saying, " try again".

The next step, a​ write down your plan. I thought for a while that an online calendar was all that I needed to keep track of my I was horribly wrong. Once I added my content posting scheduling, lead gen, content creation, home tours, blog writing and then my newsletter, video emails and topic of the month ideas, there was no amount of color-coding that could keep up. Add to that the ease at which I could not open my calendar, and a recipe for disaster.

Now I have an online calendar, a generic schedule above my computer, a generic schedule above my computer and a paper calendar to the side of my desk. I must say a lot harder to ignore when staring me in the face and no X to click on to close it. I also wrote out my goals for this year, next year, the next 5 years and the next 10 years to help keep me focused.

S​et small goals for yourself. Reward yourself for sticking to your new schedule or creating new habits. Give yourself little breaks to see if that helps your creativity. Switch up your workout time (or start working out). Reach out to successful people in your sphere and see how they stay on track (but don't compare yourself to them). Did you know that, statistically, people who shower in the morning are more successful and have an easier time staying motivated?

T​he last part is probably the hardest part: take care of yourself. yelling at yourself won't help you be creative. Take that 10-minute nap. Take extra time for lunch with a friend.

Ioften worry that I will run out of ideas for my blog or my videos and use this as an excuse to not follow my content schedule. My goal is a blog post a week but I know there will be I don't know what to write or don't feel like writing, and I'm with that.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.