Journal logo

On Vocal Subscriptions

The Vocal Podcast and The Vocal App

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
9
Photo by Sticker Mule on Unsplash

Introduction

I am writing this after the introduction of two new positive Vocal initiatives, although Subscriptions is an older initiative which I am slowly starting to use more and more though possibly not in the way that most people use them.

The New Vocal Initiatives

The first is the podcast, and while I am not a podcast person in the same way that I am not an audiobook person, because when I listen I tend to listen to music although I have listened to the odd fictional podcast/audiobook.

I know lots of my Vocal friends will find this invaluable plus Dane BH and Jim Delaney-Howe have been involved in the initial rollout that you can read here.

The second is the Vocal app which will be very useful to me because at the moment all my Vocal device interactions are via Twitter, browser and email and it will be so good to just have one app that I can go to for my Vocal needs. You can read the full story below and am sure that everyone will be very excited about this.

Vocal Subscriptions

When Vocal introduced Subscriptions I think there were visions of getting regular readers for our stories. I soon realised as I subscribed to new creators who had written stories that impressed me that I could not possibly keep up with the stories that they wrote.

I was already doing a bit of this in the Facebook Groups (see the end of this article for a list of them in poetic format) and whenever I subscribed I let the people know because Vocal just tells you how many subscribers you have but not who they are. I am subscribed to 480 Vocal creators and 85 of those have posted in the last week although one of my subscriptions has not posted in three years, although we are friends and communicate sporadically on Instagram.

85 posts in a week should be a manageable read count for me but I most often read via the Facebook Groups and Vocal Top Stories, tending to use the Your Feed option on Subscriptions if I see nothing that takes my fancy in the first two sources. At the best guess using the “Stories You Liked” feature I have read about 80 Vocal stories this week but they are unlikely to match my Subscriptions.

I have 320 Subscribers and if ten per cent of those read my stories each day I would be getting a healthy thirty reads a day although my reads fluctuate wildly between 10 and 150 a day. I went through my subscriptions and noticed there were a lot called “Test” which is creators who have left Vocal and I am wondering if I have subscribers in my count who have left too.

Some of My Subscriptions Plus the "Left" One

The Benefits I Take From My Vocal Subscriptions

In the latest Vocal improvements, there is mention of limiting some of your content to your subscribers, but I will not be doing that, I want my content to be available to everyone effectively for free. If I want you to pay me for my writing I will release my content as a book which you can buy, or you can send me a tip but I am not enabling pledges on my profile because that would mean I would have to deliver on a regular basis,

I now love dropping into my Vocal Subscription to see someone who has not published in a while and has not shared their story on Facebook and by switching to the Feed you can see the latest stories and that is a brilliant go-to point for me.

This has also been enhanced with the Vocal Comments which enables me to communicate with none Facebook members, or rather people who I don’t know on Facebook.

Conclusion

I am extremely happy that Vocal is moving forward in a lot of positive ways and am learning slowly to make use of a lot of the features and I know they can be exasperating at times with various issues, but looking at the big picture we have a great content sharing platform that enables us to share our creations with the whole wide world, not just one or two people..

feature
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    I didn’t know that about Test accounts!

  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Pam Reeder2 years ago

    Very informative. And thank you for shouting me out as a favorite. ❤ I'm looking forward to an Android version of the app so I can get in on the deliciousness.

  • I'm definitely not gonna be limiting my stuff to subscribers only. That's ridiculous. We'll lose out on so many reads that way. Anyway, you've done an excellent job on this!

  • This is great news, especially about the subscription because I’m moving away from Vocal Facebook groups. In fact, I’m only a member of Facebook Vocal Groups now. Sadly I find that the Vocal FB groups are good for the same dozen creators but the rest of us are ignored. I’ve been working my butt of for 10 to 15 reads a day and it’s just not worth it. Hopefully these changes will see the rest of us gain some reads. Fingers crossed….or maybe it’s just nearing the time to move away from Vocal. We’ll see.

  • Thank you Mike for sharing the new Vocal initiatives. Like you I would like to be able to see those that have subscribed to me. I don't understand why they are hidden. My thinking is that if someone likes what you do enough to subscribe to you they most likely won't care if you know that they have subscribed to you. I will not be using the podcast feature. First I just don't have the time to watch a podcast. Second I'm not interested. I also want to limit any of my content to subscribers only. I want all my content to be available to anybody and everybody. Limiting to me seems counterproductive because then you are shutting out potential readers therefore decreasing the amount of reads you could get. I will definitely use the App.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.