Journal logo

The First Vocal Challenge

And A Cornucopia of The Vocal Challenges Since January 2020

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
7
The First Vocal Challenge - A Night Cafe Creation by Mike Singleton

Introduction

I wondered what the first Vocal Challenge was and when It took place. It was called “Locals Only” and took place in January 2020 fourteen months before I signed up to Vocal.

The initial blurb states:

“Reveal the hidden gems and of your hometown that only locals know about.

It’s time to ditch the selfie stick and travel like locals do. Locals Only is your chance to show off all of the hidden gems in your hometown that only you know about. We’re asking creators to submit a story walking us through the ultimate locals only tour of their hometown.

Forget about the classic tourist spots; think beyond what’s usually listed as a must-see if you were to Google your neighborhood. Is there a hidden speakeasy that serves the best Moscow Mule? Or a drive that takes you to a dreamy outlook perfect for sunset time? Do you have a go-to diner for those late hour hangs? Don’t leave anything behind and get started with your own locals only itinerary for the perfect trip. We’re excited to uncover what makes your hometown so special.”

You can read more about it below.

About The First Vocal Challenge - Locals Only

It took place in January 2020 and had three prizes $2,500 for first place, $1,000 for second place and $500 for thirst place.

The first place story was “Gwangju, South Korea: Life in the Middle Lane'' by Molly Mac taking us through three very local journeys through the city. Extremely informative and an excellent read. You can read the full story below.

Second place went to “A Local’s Walk Through New Orleans’ Hippest Neighborhood” by Sierra Van der Vort and New Orleans is a place I would love to visit so this was very enjoyable. I love the music of New Orleans, especially Dr. John but you can read Sierra’s story below.

Third place went to “The Poisoned City - Back and Better Than Ever!” by Leigh Hooper. The title refers to the Nochock attack in Salisbury in 2018 but this is a very upbeat and informative guide to this beautiful English City with Stonehenge and Old Sarum. You can read Leigh’s story below.

I found this Challenge fascinating and was surprised at the sheer number of Vocal Challenges that have awarded a lot of money to a lot of people.

My Experience Of Vocal Challenges

I will admit it was the money from the challenges that attracted me to Vocal, but I have gained an absolutely beautiful treasure trove of real friends since I started engaging, especially in the Facebook Groups. I have written listing people who have helped be and have included at the end of this article a poem I wrote listing my favourite Facebook Vocal Groups.

The irony is that the first challenge that I thought I had entered, I hadn’t realised that I needed to select the Enter Challenge box so I had zero chance of winning that one.

Below is a list of Completed Challenges and although you can’t enter them every one may give you an idea to write a Vocal Story. This is what I use Challenges for, to inspire me and give me ideas to write. I don’t expect to win or even place, but I do know how good my writing is because of the feedback I receive in the Facebook Vocal Groups.

If I did place I would be over the moon, I have many friends who continually win or place and when that happens I am over the moon and made up for them.

So below is the poem that I forgot to enter into the “Color is Pride: True Colors” Challenge. I hope you find some inspiration and interest here.

And the poem about my favourite Facebook Vocal Groups

product review
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Its a conspiracy. They lure you in with a chance to win money, and you make friends. Then they have more challenges, and you make more friends. Its just wrong! LOL thanks for the informative article, Mike. I started submitting to Vocal in 2021, but took a long hiatus not too long after. I'm pretty sure I'm I didn't come back for the money.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Interesting article. Thanks for sharing.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was really interesting!! I was lured in by the challenges as well but am having a great time regardless 😁

  • Omg, I'm so sorry you didn't check the Enter into Challenge box. That's so sad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.