Journal logo

On Creative Burnout

Recognizing it and trying to fix it.

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - August 2023
38
On Creative Burnout
Photo by The Ian on Unsplash

I've hit a wall, and I'm probably burnt out creatively.

I've been thinking to myself: I can't be burnt out right now. In fact, I feel like I'm in a sort of creative flow at the moment. I've been writing frequently, and big ideas have been at the forefront of my mind, so how can I sit here and make this claim?

Well, I might have a lot of thoughts and ideas, but I'm struggling to find the right words to convey them. I'm essentially not happy with the sentences I'm stringing together, and when I try to draft, it's just not my best work. I'm not happy with my output.

I think I've been forcing myself to write too, which is something I really try not to do. I always said that I'm not one of those writers who writes every day, so why am I doing it lately? And how do I start liking what I'm writing again?

I'm not sure. I don't know the answers. It's been a while since I've hit a wall like this because I never felt as though I was forcing myself to create in the past. While I'm actively creating and racking my brain over big ideas, I'm also neglecting other projects that are probably more important in the grand scheme of things.

I haven't touched my book lately. I'm stuck, once again, on Chapter 10. I'm not sure why this happens, but every time I'm hitting another milestone with this manuscript, Chapter 10 kicks my ass. I hate it. I love it. It's a huge moment in the novel that falls flat in some ways and keeps the reader hooked in others. It's the point where I initially decided to switch the POV during my first draft. It's the point I got stuck on during rewrites. It's the point I'm struggling to get through editing. And it's exactly halfway through the book.

I think in some ways I feel guilty for writing other things when I have this big project looming in the background, mocking me. It's something I've been working on for two years now, and realistically, I'm so close to the finish line. Yes, there are major obstacles to get through, and editing is no joke, but the story is there. I could query it tomorrow if I really wanted to (but I want it to be perfect first).

Oh, shoot, perfect. That's a word I need to stay away from. Perhaps I'm putting too much pressure on myself to perform. Everything I've been trying to write lately has been either humorous or self-deprecating (don't worry, they probably won't leave the drafts). Perhaps I'm punishing myself for not living up to my own unrealistic expectations. I think I need to shift my mindset.

I'm setting some writing rules for myself moving forward, at least for the foreseeable future.

1. Stop forcing myself to write: If I like an idea, sure, I'll write it down. But if I try to communicate that idea and it's just coming up flat. I need to stop, leave it alone, and come back when it's fully cooked. Lately, there are too many musings coming out half-baked for my liking.

2. Finish editing my damn fucking novel: This weekend, if I don't get through Chapter 10, I'm going to break something. My promise to myself is to at least get through this road bump. It doesn't matter if it's good or bad, I just need to fix spelling, grammar, conventions, and the little things. I'm going to do a second round of edits anyway, and I need to stop putting so much pressure on getting it "perfect" the first time.

3. Limit my posts on Vocal: I'm vowing not to write another article on Vocal until I'm through with Chapter 10. After that, I'll allow myself to write one thing. Then I won't be able to post again until I make it through Chapter 11. So on and so forth. This way, I'm holding myself accountable for my big project while also limiting using my creative stamina for smaller projects.

4. Remember to have fun: I've been stressing myself out. There are many more eyes on my work than there were two months ago, so there's this newfound pressure to perform, even though I know that it really doesn't matter. You are all so non-judgemental, kind, and open-minded toward the work I post. I need to stop thinking so hard and just do it because I love it not because I want people to like it.

5. Be nice to myself: I've been kind of a meanie-bo-beanie lately. I remind people all the time that they should be proud of their unique voice and write because they love it, yet I'm getting down on myself for not sounding more like authors who are long dead and gone. I need to take my own advice and appreciate my work for what it is and stop comparing it to what it's not.

Anyway, thanks for reading my ramblings. I'll leave you with these questions: What do you do when you experience burnout? How do you recognize it?

Au revior for now. If I don't come back, refer to rule #3, and then virtually smack me upside the head <3

humor
38

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Strange how writers from different generations, cultures, and locations share the same issues. I've been working on the sequel for my last book for over a year now and it's nowhere near complete. Short stories for Vocal are so much easier to write. BTW congratulations on your TS!

  • Awesome 😎 and Congratulations 🎉 on Your Top Story 🤩💖‼️

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    Definitely be kind to yourself. Put the writing down. Go for a long walk. Delete ch 10 and start over. Thanks for sharing ❤️

  • Stéphane Dreyfus9 months ago

    This hits close to home. Like, front door welcome mat close. Thank you for expressing it!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I don’t experience burnout. Ever. I’ve consistently written on a regular basis for a couple decades now. So I can say with authority that your rules for yourself are useful, because they’re rules I live by. I do not make myself write anything. I’ve noticed when I’m not working on a writing project, I’m still constantly writing anyways. Writing long emails or text messages. Writing reviews on Goodreads and Yelp. Writing in my journal. It’s still writing. It still keeps me in flow. Then, when a creative idea does come to me, it takes me very little time to write it… because I’m so in the habit of writing. I’m never out of shape as a writer. Having fun and being kind to myself is a must. The day that stops, I’ll stop writing. I don’t take breaks from Vocal, but I do skip challenges that don’t speak to me. And I don’t put any pressure on myself to consistently publish quality content on here. Some stuff I post purely to play around, it doesn’t have to be true literature. Vocal is a nice playground for writers to take a break from taking themselves so seriously. Congrats on your Top Story! 🥂 Good luck with your plans.💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Great article. I feel this. I don't have a big project I'm working on, but some days, even the small ones seem impossible. Congrats on the TS

  • LC Minniti9 months ago

    "Be Nice to Yourself" should be a daily refrain. Creatives typically are the worst to themselves, in ways they never would be to other people. Also agree that "PERFECT" is the number one word to stay away from, we all need to bury it somewhere deep, or cut it away from our brains altogether. It is the enemy of creativity. Congrats on yet another very relatable write. Best of luck with your novel!

  • you've got this!! We are rooting for you

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Well, let me start by saying, "At least." At least you're working on your novel. I can't even get started on the damn anthology, much less the -now three - books I have been planning to write for more years than I care to admit. I also want to thank you for mentioning the importance of using your own voice. I just finished writing something about that, that I hope will be coming to light in the not-too-distant future. Finally, to answer your questions, I know I'm burning out when I start to dread the inevitable commute from the bedroom to the office at the back of the house.The only solution for me is to step away from writing for a while and connect with the things that inspire me.

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    I find playing with the poem is a great way to shake any kind of 'block' Always gives me some juice, some fire. Hope you figure it out. Good luck with the novel, I'll read it when it's out.

  • Props that you have been working on your novel for 2 years. I struggle with sticking to a big project and easily get distracted by every idea that comes up. I hope writing and editing chapter 10 goes well!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    I totally feel ya. Burnout is my middle name. Which is terrible xD But also, that's why I take the time to make lil' side projects that DON'T need to be finished. They're just like a little bubble break. And sometimes, I just don't write. And that's okay too. What's nice is that my writing buddy James and I created that summer challenge extravaganza project as a way for us to take a break from our daunting big projects, and just have fun. Maybe it'll work for you too :) (you can find it on my page if you want to :) )

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    I feel you with this one. I think most of us get to that point. I remember a while ago that I was in the same place as you, stuck in the middle somewhere. I knew where I wanted to go but couldn't find the words. Until I read somewhere that writing the ending could help free those words I needed, so that's what I did and it worked.

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    I wrote pretty close to the same thoughts on here the other day - I like your list for accountability! Makes so much sense. 😊

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Hi Ashley, I know exactly how you feel. I have three stories that I love to absolute bits that I haven't been able to find the right prose for. I'm stuck, either on paragraph or page three, and just cannot write them. The creativity spigot is off. Additionally, I too have novels that I'm working on, one is on draft three! But I've hit such a major creative roadblock with it that I haven't been able to produce even a sentence. Sometimes I too feel guilty about publishing other stories while I have so many languishing, not even half finished. But I think the important thing to remember is, as you so rightly put it, this is supposed to be fun! I do what makes me happy here, write what I want and when. Doing my best to keep the goblins from taking over my mind and sending me down unpleasant Rabit holes. Your second point made me laugh out loud! I know the feeling and I wish you luck! I'm interested in learning more about your book, if you're willing to share with us :)

  • Harbor Benassa9 months ago

    I have a book called Improv for Writers that I used religiously for a while. Whenever you're able to get back to smaller projects again, I suggest taking a look at it to get your juices flowing again! It's okay if you need to slow down your posts on vocal for a while- your book is a big deal! We'll just be happy to hear from you.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Creative burn out is no joke. I have days where I also can’t stand what I’m writing. So what I do is write it anyways and leave it somewhere to sit. I find that taking a step back to let it marinate helps me convey the message better when I return to it. Good luck with your manuscript! That is such an accomplishment! 💕

  • ema9 months ago

    You have raised an interesting topic. Sometimes we think we are exhausted, but instead we just need to focus. They say that our mind is constantly looking for loopholes, it may be that your difficulty in facing chapter 10 leads you to create completely different new stories. I understand your sense of guilt... it's like abandoning your creature. I think your rule number 2 is the best, don't think too much about the result, but try to finish!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Well said. How deeply I can relate; I go through a scheduled block after practically every burst of creativity, that almost always seems like it could end creativity altogether. You finish that Chapter 10! Victory is yours!

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    I feel this way sometimes. Just totally empty of inspiration. Turning off the writing mindset, and absorbing new information, watching new tv/film, and really opening my mind to pay attention to the people around me recharges me with new ideas.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Good luck with the novel

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Good advice!!@ wonderfully written @!@ Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Totally relate to this, and I say, take some time away, just like you're doing. Let the words breathe and come out when they're ready. Burnout for me is illustrated in how I choose to distract myself as I attempt to write. If I can't achieve flow, I'm forcing something. If that goes on for days, I'm burned out. I usually just stop writing on my computer, and let thoughts come to me, then write them in my Glimmer journal to pick at later. And on the rare occasion that I feel the majority of a poem form in my mind, I try to take the time to capture it. But yeah, just recognizing that I'm unconsciously trying NOT to write is a good indicator that I'm burned out. 😅 Good luck! I know you'll get past the Chapter 10 block. If you need to, start rewriting it, maybe you'll work out the kink(s) and surpass it. Oh, and for what it's worth (probably not much, lol), try those edits after sleeping on your drafting progress. 💖

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Ooo I’m so intrigued about your novel, and I know your chapter 10 will be amazing. I believe in you. 💗

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Always step back when you can and leave it alone. I have a review I have been meaning to finish and the temptation to do so is hard to ignore. I feel I will do a better job if I just relax and let it come naturally. Good luck!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.