Journal logo

OK Go

Does Anything Limit Your Experience?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read

Today I read a piece and left some positive feedback. I had read the piece and it wasn’t until my comment got a like on Facebook that I realised who the author was.

This got me thinking how our viewing , reading listening , eating and holiday and or visits are shaped.

If we get good service in any form , that is likely to make us to want to utilise the provider of that service again for similar services. Conversely if the service is not up to scratch we are likely not to reuse that provider.

This is generally a good measure for choosing what is your next thing.

I am generally eclectic in my tastes in most areas , but now prefer taking holidays in the UK as I detest check-ins at airports. I am fine with flying but it's all the stuff around it , and have developed a penchant for rail travel , as long as it is on a scenic route

I know people whose music preference is either X-Factor or UK Heavy Metal between 1974 and 1976. Now these people know what they like , and know what they are going to get.

I am always looking out for new things although sometimes an artist can sway my decision if they have a new record out

A few years ago my friend Matt pointed me to the band OK Go who had produced an impressive on take video for their song "This Too Shall Pass" and following their musical and video shoots was a whole new adventure to me. I knew nothing of the band or song , it was Matt's recommendation that dropped me into that particular rabbit hole.

Sometimes I will walk into a record shop , or turn on the radio and hear something new and will then Investigate, so I suppose I am less swayed than some by the Author , Artist , film director / producer.

I first encountered Steven Spielberg when I saw the TV movie "Duel" which is still disturbing and scary , and he has done some amazing stuff but I found "ET" tedious , unlike most people.

The thing is do you let things stop you from experiencing life if say , you don't like an author or director. As a teenager I detested The Osmonds but in reality "One Bad Apple" and "Crazy Horses" were brilliant records. Soul , Reggae and Disco were swear words in my early teens , but by the time I came to Newcastle my nickname became Mikey Dredd after the toaster Mikey Dread .

I see it happen to me , I would never bother myself with a book by Dan Brown or EL James so that is an example of the autor stopping me. I am not a fan of Terry Pratchett or Stephen King (Love the people find the books too hard going) so I would not necessarily go for their books , but I have read “The Stand” , “It” and “Mort” , but I enjoy a lot of the televisations and dramatizations.

Maybe my eclecticism stops me from being a true fan of anything because I am always on the lookout for something new.

Humans are often averse to change , ironically I am too, why change something that works? But I like things that are different that do not enforce life changes. So new music , books and authors just enrich my life. Moving house , changing jobs and the like are far too turbulent for my liking , or maybe it’s just that I am getting old.

Anyway I am going to share that one take OK Go video with you which is just pure joy and you should try it on a big screen if possible,

Just think what is stopping from taking a different step in another direction.

advice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.