Journal logo

Not Your Typical Mom Blog: From True Crime to Budgeting

Welcome!

By Danielle TaylorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

Hello everyone and welcome to Not Your Typical Mom Blog!

I decided to write this blog as a way to get my thoughts out, give people information and hopefully help some people along the way! In this blog I will be writing about pretty much everything that comes to mind, from true crime stories, to dealing with mental health stuggles, to different ways to pay off debts and start building a savings fund to get you through hard times, all to books, movies and music I love! If anyone has any requests on any subject they would like me to cover feel free to send me a message or leave a comment letting me know!

For some information on me, I am a mom of two kids (age 7 and 1), I was born and raised in a small town in the Cariboo-Chilcotin of British Columbia so I've been surrounded by many different cultures throughout my life and have learned so much from the people that I met. I currently work full-time managing a local store, have a couple side hustles to help me out as I am currently working on paying down debts and putting aside a down payment for a new house!

Living in the area that I do, my family spends a lot of time in the outdoors, whether it is camping and spending time on the lake during the summer to teaching my 7-year old how to snowboard and sledding in the winter, or just driving around our gorgeous province, we are almost always on the go! There is a cost that comes with it though, and learning to budget in order to make sure we can do those things and collect momentos from those trips has become my priority over the last few months!

For the True Crime side, I have always been interested in different crime stories that have come out over the years and love learning more about what happened, how it happened, and how they figured out who did it. Whether it's murder, terrorism, survival stories or disasters that could have been prevented, I am here for it all the way!

I, personally, have struggled with, and continue to struggle with, my mental health for as long as I can remember. I have learned different coping mechanisms, learned ways that did and didn't work for me, and try my best to help others who are in similar situations with their mental health as well. I am by no means an expert or professional, but I strongly believe that we all need to support and help each other instead of tearing people down for their mental illnesses.

I have been an avid reader my entire life. I love every genre, every legnth, every author! It is something that takes me out of my own mind and puts me in a whole different world which I love the feeling of. One thing I've always tied together is books and music, as I read I often hear different kinds of music in my head depending on what's happening on the page in front of me. Having grown up a singer, pianist (mediocre at best) and playing the flute, music has always had a huge impact on my life. It is another thing that I have tied into my mental health as a coping mechanism and something I encourage other people to use if it works for them.

My family always did movie nights with the whole gang so they became a big part of my childhood. To this day I associate movies with certain parts of growing up. My siblings and I have entire conversations in nothing but movie or tv quotes, much to the chagrin of my parents sometimes! I love giving my thoughts and opinions of movies!

Well, that's a little about me, until next time, stay safe, stay health, and stay out of trouble :)

advice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DTWritten by Danielle Taylor

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.