Criminal logo

Not Your Typical Mom Blog: From True Crime to Budgeting

Podcasts for days!

By Danielle TaylorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Not Your Typical Mom Blog: From True Crime to Budgeting
Photo by israel palacio on Unsplash

I started listening to podcasts when I was working for a car rental company and was spending 2-5 hours a day on the road driving between our downtown office and the airport. I realized a few days into that job that listening to music just wasn't going to be enough for me and I figured I may as well learn some stuff at the same time! The first podcast I ever listened to was Exactly Rights, My Favorite Murder, (available on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and Stitcher) and let me tell you, I was hooked from episode one. Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark quickly became my best friends that I had never met. They made me laugh, they made me cry, they taught me so many lessons on how to react in certain situations and they made each day a little brighter. When I started listening I think they had about 200 episodes out and I went through every episode in a matter of weeks. They had so many interesting sugestions on books, tv shows, movies and other podcasts! Once I caught up with them and had to wait a whole week (which was SO LONG) for the next episode to drop I started looking at some of their suggestions and finding other shows to listen to.

My next "addiction" in podcasting came in the form of Parcasts Crimes of Passion (which is available on Spotify) where they talk about different murders between loved ones, whether it's parents killing family, kids killing parents, or any combination of lover's scandals. The host of Crimes of Passion does an amazing job of telling the story and keeping the information easy enough to understand that you don't get confused within the episode. Parcast Network has a lot of different kinds of podcasts from True Crime to Fairytales to Mythology which I absolutely love because there is so much variety and they are SO well done!

When I started getting into different true crime podcasts I started joining groups on facebook and came across a youtube page by Bailey Sarian who does videos called "murder, mystery and make up" where she talks about a murder well doing her make up (kind of self-explanitory!) and she started a podcast called Dark History where she talks about a ton of creepy, spooky, crazy things that are never taught in history class at school. I love the way she does her shows and talks about the subjects that are almost considered taboo to discuss!

One of my favourite podcasts right now is called "The Budget Bitch Podcast" By Farrah Turcotte. She's Canada based which I love because so much of her information is more relevant to me than a lot of budgeting podcasts based in the states where they tallk about things that we don't necessarily have in Canada. She is super funny and completely honest about the information that she gives and the situation that she was in. She brings in speakers to talk about the different subjects that she is discussing who may have a different perspective. She does the podcast for free but also has courses you can take with her to learn more about your own personal financial position and ways to budget yourself. I love this podcast because it has given me different information on how to budget my own life and how to go about things like getting my retirement fund started, different kinds of bank accounts you can have and the different ways they help in the long run.

Podcasts really have become a big part of my life throughout the last few years because I can learn more about a ton of different subjects while I do things like dishes, cleaning my house, folding laundry or just dribing around with my kids! As Karen and Georgia would say to their Murderinos "Stay Sexy and Don't Get Murdered!" Until next time, stay safe, stay healthy, and stay out of trouble!

interview

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DTWritten by Danielle Taylor

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.