Journal logo

Not the Writing Hill You Need Die On

I want you to live

By The Dani WriterPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
11
Not the Writing Hill You Need Die On
Photo by Xan Griffin on Unsplash

Who needs an unadulterated authentic you as a writer?

I do.

Plus others too numerous to mention.

"Why do I ask?" you ask.

Perhaps you don’t think about it enough. Perhaps I don’t either.

Perhaps it’s all you think about. Or some range in between. It’s a noteworthy component of writing identity which makes you, well…you.

The spitfire we threw around as kids, “Say what you mean and mean what you say,” now my grown adaptation, “Write what you mean and mean what you write.”

With the worldwide writers’ pool in the billions and rising, what characteristics will make someone stand out from the overwhelming crowd?

A one-of-a-kind writer built from the unique life experiences that shaped them, their perspectives, and passions.

By Mulyadi on Unsplash

The state of being genuine isn’t so much a consideration when your writing isn’t viewed by anyone. Those no-holds-barred, penned/deviced/PC’d, free-for-alls that unburden our souls or sit alongside our earthbound panoramic ride through the galaxy are enjoyable favored times.

When the public gets eyes on though, things start to get interesting.

Some say that they aren’t affected by public opinions about their carefully crafted productions, however, that would make us strange mortals indeed. Indifference isn’t exactly something of which a writer can feel proud. This is a critical part of the writing journey which can do the insidious creep up more than once. A testing of one’s mettle. Of finding out what the hey mettle is. Determining how much there is inside us. Then, being wowed after that trial by public fire for the exposure of our writing elementals.

By Drew Beamer on Unsplash

The core parts of us have something to write to the world. Might not be pretty. Or come across well, but is it us through and true?

My greatest fear as a writer is not sounding like myself anymore. That I’ll miss subtle changes along the path that alter me into something unrecognizable. An issue that is markedly different from writing development. You can keep your writing voice, and style with unique signature and successfully develop your skill but it’s ugly business transforming oneself into a façade.

“Why bring up these unpalatable issues? This will never happen to me—to us,” you say.

I feel the same way.

But there’s plenty of unexplored writing road ahead and if there’s one thing hurricane preparedness taught me as a child, it’s to get ready and shore up for potential eventualities while there’s plenty of good weather. Explore the depths of personal writing principles. If it came to a choice, would you sacrifice integrity for literary acclaim? For money? Sink your soul beneath poisoned paragraphs for the privilege of being published?

These are not the halls of judgment. Nor a prediction of doom and gloom.

But what can it hurt to establish your own mission statement as a writer as it were?

I dare believe that the Kahlil Gibrans, J.R.R. Tolkiens, Harper Lees, and Toni Morrisons of this world had robust internal writing philosophy ballast that kept them upright and on course through the stormiest seas determined to capsize them.

Our authenticity defines us. Stares us in the face and asks if we really meant that. Weighs the words we write against the fire igniting passion inside and will not be conned. Has unrestricted access and ceaseless tenacity. Feels no hesitation to point out dissonance by asking if we are out of our ever-living minds.

Except when we ourselves muffle the sound.

Allow roaring crowds to influence thought to a point of inaction. Repeated concessions and weakening voice until it's scarce a whisper at all.

I don’t ever want to be there.

I yearn to be the writer whose truth permeates every aspect of my life, that will not compromise my perspective in the heat of world injustice. In the use of language, I strive for emotive dimensions, uplifting resonance, and total immersion whether in one sentence or one thousand. To exhaust all the words I have and forge new ones.

When all the mad power-hungry, bloodthirsty warmongers have fired every weapon in their arsenal, both literal and figurative to subdue and control, I pray to be standing on high ground among the brave ones. The writers. Pen hanging at the right side from fingertips, asking “Is that all you got?” as I commit to the task of scripting stories that have never been written for a new world waiting to take first breaths.

Missions have mission statements.

Write yours.

Review and revise often.

By Dan DeAlmeida on Unsplash

I am very appreciative that you read this story! I put a great deal of time and effort into it so that means so much to me!

You are more than welcome to read more of my work here.

If you would like to demonstrate support for me or any of the Vocal Creators, please like and share our work with friends and on social media platforms. It encourages us to keep doing what we love doing. Kindly secure permission for sharing to sites outside of this scope.

And just in case you were wondering, tips from all written pieces go direct deposit into my bank account via Stripe and are valued highly, irrespective of the amount, but only if you can manage them. The joy a writer receives from being tipped is having feelings of acknowledgment and validation. "My written voice resonated with someone!" That is what it means for me and many others. I am just as joyous when you share my work!

Please forward any questions, comments, critiques, and/or compliments to me @thedaniwriter

humanity
11

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton2 months ago

    What a wonderful and relevant essay Danni. I think about these issues often, and earlier today, I read this Beth Kempton’s substack: ‘ My ten year old just brought in her sketchbook and showed me her latest drawing. “I think I might have found my style at last,” she said. “Oh nice. How do you know?” “Because I had fun doing it.” Folks, sometimes it is that simple ❤️’ How perfect is that from one so young? 😂

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    I like to think I'm authentic, but pay my mortgage and I'll put whatever words you want wherever you want 'em, with very few exceptions 🤪😅😅

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Superb! Fantastic fabulous nonfiction piece!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.