Journal logo

My Thoughts on Vocal+ & Reaching 100 Stories

Nearly three years as a Vocal writer

By Leigh HooperPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
16
My Thoughts on Vocal+ & Reaching 100 Stories
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

If you've seen the latest announcements you'll know that there are now over 20,000 Vocal+ members, so hi everyone!

I have been using Vocal for nearly three years, and been a Vocal+ member and founding member for nearly a year, and it's amazing to watch this space grow and grow and become a wonderful community for so many amazing writers!

It has been two and a half years since I discovered Vocal, and within that time I have written articles on music, films and TV, personal experiences, poetry and SO MUCH MORE.

With Vocal having thirty five communities in total, I know that whatever I want to write about will have a specific home that other creators can find easily. Click the link below to see them all!

Having these multiple communities creates unlimited opportunities as a writer, and that is one of the things that made me stay on Vocal and keep writing...keep writing to the point that I now have over one hundred stories on my profile!

In this time I have come 3rd place in three challenges:

The Local's Only Challenge: The Poisoned City - Back and Better Than Ever

The Quarantine Playlist Challenge: AT HOME PLAYLIST

The Brain Power Playlist Challenge: Big Brain Bangers

I feel very lucky to have come 3rd place in all of these, and I love seeing who has come in 1st and 2nd place because I know they deserved to win just as much as I did!

In two and a half years I have also earned over $120 in tips, as well as reaching the Vocal+ payout for the second time!

Being a Vocal+ member has opened up so many opportunities for me and the change to compete in exclusive challenged and have perks such as a smaller minimum withdrawal balance is such a lovely addition to the joys of being a Vocal creator.

Vocal has definitely been very supportive these last few years and back in October 2020 I was involved in Vocal's advertising campaign so if you're a newbie around here then maybe you saw my advert! I hope you think I'm famous because of it! (lol I wish).

a photo I shared to my Instagram story @leighooper

Reaching one hundred stories has been a result of Vocal's endless support and the joy I feel from being a part of this community. It is a massive achievement for me and I have come a long way since I posted my first article back in 2018: Rick Riordan: God of Representation.

In my school years I took English Literature and Language as well as Media Studies and those two creative subjects left me feeling the need to express me opinions and knowledge to the world, and I'm very lucky to have found Vocal. From writing about my favourite authors, to musicians to literally writing about anything I desire, I cannot stress enough how grateful I am for Vocal.

My latest article (article number 101) is called Ocean's Eleven, But Make It Spanish, and it is for the If This, Then That Challenge. If you have a chance, go check it out! I love the fact that Vocal offer a range of different challenges for a range of different communities. If you're a photographer, or if you're more of a fiction writer, or if you have one specific niche that you write about, there is a good chance that there is a Vocal challenge for you, especially if you're a Vocal+ member!

I have grown as a writer, found what genres and subjects I love writing about, and I have connected with other creators who use Vocal using the Facebook group The Vocal Creators Lounge. The support from other writers is amazing, and being able to share our work and create a community with other Vocal creators is wonderful. If you have any questions, if you want to share an article or just say hi, then that is the place to be.

Of course, as a writer who has only used Vocal as the only platform to display their writing, I am going to be biased. But I don't care because I truly believe that Vocal is the only creative platform I want to be a part of. I've been here nearly three years, without even remembering how I stumbled across the website, and I'm going to be here for the foreseeable. So, you'll be seeing a lot more of me Vocal Creators!

Here's to article number 102 - cheers!

-

If you enjoyed this opinion piece, then make sure to leave this article a little heart to show your love! Being a part of the Facebook group I'm making sure to leave a heart on every article I come across, so I may even reciprocate your love! Tips are greatly appreciated if you're feeling super kind - but no pressure!

If you have any questions, or anything to add, feel free to DM me @leighooper on Twitter or Instagram and even pop me a follow if you're interested in the author behind the article.

Thanks for reading, I hope to see you soon!

product review
16

About the Creator

Leigh Hooper

A writer in her twenties with a head full of ideas and a room full of books✨

My Instagram handle is: @leighooper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.