Journal logo

My Inspirations for Writing

Why I write for Vocal

By Destiny WooldridgePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
My Inspirations for Writing
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Being a stay at home mom with a dream isn’t exactly the easiest thing to manage. I write for Vocal not for money, cause at first you definitely don’t make much money. I write for Vocal mostly as a hobby. I want to be a published author one day and I guess I technically a, a published Author through Vocal.

I would actually like to write a book one day and get it published. I would like to be as famous as John Green or David Baldacci. My problem is staying concentrated long enough to write a book. I figure maybe writing stories and articles for Vocal may help me learn some self-discipline. Writing a book definitely takes a good amount of self-discipline. I would like to publish at least two or three stories onto Vocal a day, but with me being a stay at home mom this hardly ever happens. I have to put my focus onto my One-Year old or else he would kill himself.

The inspirational books that have made me want to become a writer do not have a theme at all. The first book I ever read that made me want to write was The Fault in our Stars. I didn’t like the ending of the book one bit so I went and wrote a sequel to it. Of course no one has ever read my book and I have no clue if I could legally publish it or not considering the first book was written by John Green. My second inspirational book is Looking for Alaska, also written by John Green. I felt like I could relate to Alaska on an entire new level. So for one of my main characters in my stories I named the Girl Alaska Ruby-Lynn. Ruby is just another character from a completely different book that I like, However, I would not consider that book one of my inspirational books. My third inspirational book would be Wish You Well written by David Baldacci. I first read this book in my tenth grade english class and I fell in love with it from the start. I ended up reading ahead of our reading schedule because of how much I loved this book. I honestly just couldn't put it down. Now this last one isn't an inspirational book, but an inspirational author. I admire Rick Riordan’s work. I love how he can write multiple series and manage to use the same characters and same history in his series. This is something I would like to someday try to manage to do.

My writing is so far Juvenile, which there is nothing wrong with. Everyone has to start somewhere.I know everyone says to just keep writing because practice makes perfect, but I just fear I will not be able to get where I want to be in my writing career. Back when I was in high school I would always want to read and write but I would never want to read or write when a teacher told me to. However, I remember when my ninth grade english teacher had us write a hero's journey story. I remember she wanted our stories to be at least a page long. I expected mine to be around a page long just like everyone else’s, but by the time the bell rang signaling for class to be over, my story was ten pages long. I know that is no book, but I was beyond proud of myself over it. I still have that story printed out and packed away to this day. I mean it’s not very often that I am proud of myself, so I should save the reason why, shouldn’t I?

career
1

About the Creator

Destiny Wooldridge

Currently a stay at home mom who is also going to start school in January 2021 to get my RN license. I am also learning how to love myself that way I can be a better fiance and mother.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.