Journal logo

My Hopes for a New Job Was Ruined by a Scam

Here is my story

By Sarah LoydPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7
My Hopes for a New Job Was Ruined by a Scam
Photo by Cytonn Photography on Unsplash

Job hunting is hard, especially if you are looking for a remote job. For several months, I have applied for ten(yes, I'm serious) work-from-home jobs with no luck. So, when an employer contacted me with a job offer, I was excited. Little did I know that hell was about to break loose.

On Thanksgiving week, I received a text from a recruiter named "David Torres" (which is most likely a fake name). "David" said that he saw my resume on Indeed and thought I would make a perfect fit for his company, Invicta Medical. The position was a remote data entry clerk earning thirty dollars per hour. I was surprised by this offer. My gut feeling was that this was too good to be true (I should've listened). I looked up this company on Google, and the website appeared legit. Despite my better judgment, I agreed to an interview. I thought that everything in my life was finally about to fall into place. Boy, was I wrong.

I was required to download an instant messaging app called Signal. The whole interview was conducted through this app. He had typical questions like "where do you see yourself in five years?". So far, everything appeared to be normal. A few days later, I was requested to follow up with the interviewer (whose fake name was "Jason Peterson"). He said that I got the job. Hooray! What's next?

This is when things get complicated. "Jason" informs me that the company will ship my new office supplies to my home. They emailed me a check to cover the cost. My mobile banking app wasn't working, so I couldn't deposit the check. But what didn't occur to me was this: why would a company send me money for equipment? Why couldn't they pay for it themselves? They should, right? All these important questions didn't come to me until it was too late.

Instead, "Jason" has me go through all these hoops to send them money out of my pocket. I was told that I would be reimbursed. No harm done. This girl wanted to impress her future employers and not cause any trouble. I sent two hundred dollars through Apple Pay, only to be told they need more money. Being the accommodating person that I am, I send more money...and more money....and more money. It got to a point where the large transactions couldn't go through because my bank wouldn't let me. That should've been a red flag.

Then, "Jason" asked me to go to the nearest store to purchase an Apple Pay gift card. Afterward, he wanted me to take a picture of my receipt. That's when the alarms finally went off in my head. Something was not right. I decided to play it safe and kindly declined the job. I also asked for my money back. "Jason" was very rude and didn't bother to help me. It didn't matter. He got what he wanted from me.

I've never felt so humiliated in my life. I still blame myself for what happened. If only I saw the signs. If only I knew better. Lucky for me, I have supportive parents. Instead of criticizing me, they assured me that it was not my fault. Anyone could be a victim of a scam.

So, remember that if God forbid, you ever get scammed. Remember that you are not alone. Hopefully, that advice helps people. That's why I decided to write about my story. In fact, I found an article online about a young woman with the exact same story as mine. I'll still look for a remote job. If there is one thing I learned is that you can never be too careful on the internet.

Want to avoid a scam? Here are some helpful articles I found:

criminalsinterviewhumanitycareer
7

About the Creator

Sarah Loyd

I love movies, music, TV, and all things entertaining. I also love to write poetry. Follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on Mix https://mix.com/sarahloyd You can also find me on Pinterest @sloydmarie

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    You can still get your money back, I hope the FBI catch these guys . I am so sorry this happen to you 😞

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Sorry to hear this happened to you. It would be interesting if you included in this article anything you may have done to report this scam to Indeed and what happened. Did you report this to your bank to try and get your money back? Did you call the police or report this to the federal internet scams be ready? All that information would be great in your article so others can know what to do after they realize they've been scammed. Thank you so much for sharing this experience with us - things like this are important to know.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    hope you find restitution and are reimbursed, sorry this happened, my thoughts, follow the gut, especially when hungry, hope that made you smile

  • Wow, and on Indeed for com no less. Report to the BBB who will follow up with you and ask the bank to take the money back from that company, they will.

  • S.R.Daleyabout a year ago

    Just read this through Facebook. Did you end up getting your money back. I had a similar experience but my bank reversed everything.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Scammers think that their victims will be to embarrassed to share their story. It's important to share these stories. 💕 Thank you, Sarah!!!💖💖💖

  • Thank you for sharing this Sarah, there are so many scammers out there in many forms. I get hit regularly though if they ask for money that's when I drop them, but I understand why you went as far as you did. Big hugs and here for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.