Journal logo

My Hair Loss Nightmare and How I Found a Solution

By Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like

I never thought I would lose my hair. I always had thick, shiny, and healthy locks that I loved to style and show off. I took pride in my hair, and it was a big part of my identity and confidence.

But everything changed when I got the COVID-19 vaccine.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful that I was able to get vaccinated and protect myself and others from the virus. I know that the vaccine is safe and effective, and that the benefits outweigh the risks. But I was not prepared for the side effect that hit me hard: hair loss.

A few weeks after getting my second dose, I noticed that my hair was falling out more than usual. Every time I brushed, washed, or touched my hair, I would see strands of it on my hands, on the floor, or in the drain. It was terrifying.

I tried to ignore it at first, hoping that it was just a temporary phase and that it would stop soon. But it didn’t. It got worse. My hair became thinner and weaker, and I started to see bald patches on my scalp. I felt like I was losing a part of myself.

I became depressed and anxious. I hated looking at myself in the mirror, and I avoided going out or meeting people. I felt ashamed and embarrassed of my appearance, and I feared that people would judge me or pity me. I felt alone and hopeless.

I searched online for answers and solutions. I learned that hair loss after the COVID-19 vaccine is a common and temporary side effect that can affect many women. It can be caused by an immune reaction or an autoimmune disorder that disrupts the normal cycle of hair growth. However, there are ways to cope with it and treat it, such as being gentle with your hair, being creative with your style, being supportive with yourself and others, and using red light therapy.

Red light therapy? What is that?

I was intrigued by this term, so I did some more research. Red light therapy is a non-invasive technique that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and blood circulation in the scalp. This can help reduce inflammation, increase oxygen and nutrient delivery, activate stem cells, and extend the anagen phase of hair growth.

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be safe and effective for treating various types of hair loss, including telogen effluvium and alopecia areata . It can also improve hair density, thickness, strength, and shine .

I was amazed by these findings, and I decided to give it a try. I ordered a red light therapy cap for hair growth online, which is a device that fits over your head like a cap or a helmet and emits red light onto your scalp. You can use it for a few minutes per day according to the instructions of the manufacturer.

I was skeptical at first, but I had nothing to lose. So I started using the red light therapy cap every day for 15 minutes. And guess what? It worked!

After a few weeks of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed that my hair shedding decreased significantly. After a few months, I noticed that my hair started to grow back thicker and stronger. After six months, I had a full head of hair again!

I couldn’t believe it. Red light therapy saved my hair!

I was overjoyed by the results, and I felt like a new person. My confidence came back, and so did my happiness. I started to enjoy life again, and I felt more comfortable in my own skin.

I’m not saying that red light therapy is a miracle cure for everyone who suffers from hair loss after the COVID-19 vaccine. Everyone’s situation is different, and results may vary depending on various factors. But for me, it was a lifesaver.

If you have experienced hair loss after the COVID-19 vaccine, don’t lose hope. There are ways to cope with it and treat it, and one of them is red light therapy. You can use the best handheld LED light therapy device at home to enjoy the benefits of this treatment .

Hair loss after the COVID-19 vaccine is a common and temporary side effect that can affect many women. It can be caused by an immune reaction or an autoimmune disorder that disrupts the normal cycle of hair growth. However, there are ways to cope with it and treat it, such as being gentle with your hair, being creative with your style, being supportive with yourself and others, and using red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a safe and effective technique that can stimulate hair growth by increasing blood flow, reducing inflammation, activating stem cells, and extending the anagen phase. You can use a red light therapy cap or a handheld LED light therapy device at home to enjoy the benefits of this treatment.

I hope this article has helped you understand why hair loss after the COVID-19 vaccine happens, how to deal with it, and what you can do to restore your hair health and beauty. Have you tried red light therapy for hair growth? What were your results? Share your thoughts and experiences in the comments below!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.