Journal logo

How I Saved My Hair from Herbal Essences Damage

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

I have always loved my hair. It’s long, thick, and shiny, and I get compliments on it all the time. But a few months ago, I noticed something alarming: my hair was falling out more than usual. I was shocked and scared. What was causing this? Was I sick? Was I stressed? Was I going bald?

I decided to do some research online and found out that one of the possible causes of hair loss was the shampoo I was using. I had been using Herbal Essences for years, thinking it was a natural and gentle product that smelled amazing. But as I dug deeper, I discovered that Herbal Essences was not as good as it claimed to be.

According to some articles and reviews, Herbal Essences contained harsh chemicals that could strip natural oils away from the scalp and hair, causing dryness, irritation, and inflammation. Some of these chemicals included sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), fragrance, and PEG-100 stearate. SLS was a foaming agent that could also damage the hair follicles and prevent new growth. Fragrance was a synthetic ingredient that could trigger allergies or respiratory problems. PEG-100 stearate was a thickening agent that could be contaminated with 1,4-dioxane, a known carcinogen.

I was horrified by what I learned. How could I have been using this product for so long without knowing the risks? How could I have trusted the brand’s claims of being natural and nourishing? How could I have ignored the warning signs of my hair loss?

I decided to stop using Herbal Essences immediately and look for a safer alternative. I wanted something that would not only cleanse my hair but also stimulate its growth and restore its health. That’s when I came across red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red and near-infrared light to penetrate deep into the cells and activate their energy generators (mitochondria). This process boosts the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP), which helps the cells store and use energy. By increasing the cellular energy, red light therapy can enhance the healing and regeneration of tissues, including the hair.

Red light therapy has been shown to be effective for hair growth in several studies. For example, a 2014 study found that low-level laser therapy (LLLT), a form of red light therapy, was safe and effective for both men and women with pattern hair loss. A 2013 study of 41 males found that LLLT provided a 39 percent increase in hair growth over 16 weeks.

I was intrigued by these results and decided to give red light therapy a try. I bought a red light therapy cap online, which was designed to fit over the head and deliver the optimal wavelength and dosage of light to the scalp. The cap was easy to use, painless, and had no side effects. I used it for 20 minutes every other day, following the instructions carefully.

After a few weeks of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed a difference in my hair. It felt softer, smoother, and stronger. It looked shinier, fuller, and healthier. And most importantly, it stopped falling out as much as before. I was amazed by the improvement and felt more confident about my appearance.

I am so glad I discovered red light therapy for hair growth. It has been a lifesaver for me and my hair. It has helped me reverse the damage caused by Herbal Essences and restore my hair’s natural beauty. If you are suffering from hair loss or thinning, I highly recommend you try red light therapy too. It might be the solution you are looking for.

Thank you for reading my story. If you liked it, please leave a comment below and share it with your friends. And if you have any questions or tips about red light therapy or hair care, feel free to share them too. Let’s help each other grow our hair back!

product reviewhow toadvice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.