Journal logo

My Adventures as a Pizza Delivery Driver

Robe Lady and Underwear Man

By Rhonda FarleyPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

During the time that I have been delivering pizzas, I have acquired many regular customers. When I first started delivering pizzas, I worked the evening shift and now, since the first of this year, I was put on the day shift. Several of the customers would ask for me to deliver their food to them, when they called the store and placed their order. Although now that I am on the day shift at work, I now have the same thing going on as I did working the evening shift and more regular customers, which is wonderful.

I was at work one day and as usual I heard my name being called and I was up for the next delivery. I bagged up my order and proceeded out to my car. I placed the order in the passenger seat and went around and got in the car. I plugged in the address to where I was going into my GPS, and away I went. Off to deliver another pizza. The customer’s location was an upscale apartment complex, that was located not far from the store. Before I knew it, I had arrived at my customer’s apartment. I parked my car, got out, got the order out of the car, and I moved forward to either ring the doorbell or knock on the door to deliver the food. When my customer comes to the door, it is a lady, and she has a beautiful flower in her hair, but WAIT! Oh my gosh! She has nothing on but a robe and it is not really tied up in the front of it like it should have been. Oh! Trying to look the other way, I handed the customer her food and told her to have a good day. Turns out, she is one of my regular weekly customer’s.

I arrived back at the store from my previous delivery and I scanned my thumb to log back in. I placed the hot bag on the table, in the front of the store where it belonged. It was not long before I heard my name being called and I was again up for the next delivery. Before I knew it, I was in my car headed to my next destination. Where I was headed was a nicer neighborhood that was located several miles from the store. I arrived at my customer’s house and in this case, a man came to the door in his boxer shorts! WAIT! Nothing on but his underwear! Okay, I thought to myself, today must be underwear day at home. Trying to look the other way again, I handed the man his food and told him to have a good day. Turns out, he is also one of my regular weekly customer’s.

I understand that people enjoy spending time at home, but please, if you order food to be delivered, I guess, put some clothes on before coming to the door. It is not an” I am not going to wear any clothes today” day. If you do not want to wear any clothes, do not wear any for the day, but just put them on for a few short seconds that a delivery driver would be at your door, then take them off after the delivery driver leaves your house or apartment. This should be a matter of common courtesy that is shown to all delivery drivers.

humorcareer
Like

About the Creator

Rhonda Farley

I work part-time delivering pizzas for Papa Johns. I love to spend my days off from work cooking, baking, or trying any new recipe. I also love to spend days painting. I love spending time with family and friends and both of my pets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.