Journal logo

My 60 Day Review Of Vocal Media

Is It Worth It?

By Blue DymondPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
14
My 60 Day Review Of Vocal Media
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

What Is Vocal Media?

Vocal Media is a writing platform that allows you to make money writing articles. It accepts a multitude of content across various categories. Like many other platforms it does use the CPM (cost per mille) or in layman terms cost per thousand algorithm. Which, to put it even simpler, just means that you get paid a certain amount per thousand reads depending on if you're using the free service or if you've subscribed to Vocal Plus.

Lets Jump Right In

While other posts usually bore you with a huge info dump of all things great about Vocal that you could've just gotten off of their resources page. I'm going to get right into what most of you really want to know. Is it worth it? Can you succeed? Are there any tips? Yes, Yes, and YES!

First, I'm going to go over my earnings over the last 6o days. What I did and what I should have done to get my reads and then we can drop right into the tips of having success on Vocal.

60 day results of Vocal

Top earning Articles

Total Reads

My Experience With Vocal

Okay, so as you can see pictured above, I'm almost at a whopping 3$ in earnings based on my reads and I've earned 37$ in tips. Also, the first article that I wrote, Ultimate Gift Guide, won a 2500$ second place prize.

The top two articles listed above, How I teach My Son History and 30 Days in Vocal were both chosen as a Top Story and continue to get reads daily.

I noticed that when my articles got picked for top story not only did it increase views on that article but it also led people to look at my other work.

As I stated in my previous review of Vocal, Creator Kathryn made it clear that reminding people to heart your work or to leave a tip does work. Out of the 37$ that I earned 36 of them came from me putting a reminder at the bottom of my work.

Vocal did just introduce a few ways to get a Creator Bonus, which includes tipping and liking others stories so I'm curious to see how this works out within the Vocal community.

Overall Review

60 days in and Vocal is still worth it to me. The platform gives me the freedom to write in as many categories as I'd like without limiting my creativity like most sites do. It's simple enough to use daily and the one time that I did face an issue the Vocal team responded promptly with a fix.

I love being a Vocal Creator and plan to continue using this platform for my writing. It's definitely worth giving a try for anyone that's still on the fence about it. 40$ in earnings and the occasional challenge win may not seem like a lot but I know the longer I stay at it the quicker my earnings will grow and anytime I monetize while doing something I love (no matter how much) its always a plus in my book.

My personal goal is to post at minimum 5 articles a week. Whether that's 1 article a day or all 5 written over the weekend, doesn't matter, as long as its done. I've seen that an increase in content has increased my reads tremendously. It has also made me a better writer. While at first I was struggling to get 1 article written I can now dish out 4 quality articles in one day and not break a sweat. I haven't written 5 articles back to back yet but hopefully I get there soon.

Alright, so now that I've reviewed my experience and earnings so far as a creator I also wanted to go over some tips that may help in increasing your reads and making it to Top Story.

Your Heading is Everything.

While most feel this is common sense, I had no idea how important it was when I began writing on Vocal. I was making my title either to basic or too creative. The deal is you want your heading to catch your readers eye but you also want it to explain what they are about to read. Click bait will not work here.

Do Not Write One Big Block Of Text

We are in the day in age where mostly everyone is browsing from their phone. Also people want their information easy and they want it quick. A big block of text is intimidating and will turn your readers away without so much as a glance.

Now understand, I'm not saying that your article has to be a short 3 paragraphs in order to be worth reading. That's not true. I'm willing to read 12 minutes of content as long as its broken up. If I click on an article and its one long block of text I'm out of there faster than it takes the page to finish loading.

The content has to be appealing to the eye while offering the reader a break in between all the black and white.

Pictures

This goes along with the above paragraph. You want your article to be appealing to the reader and images only add to that appeal. So if you can embed pictures, videos, or clips of whatever you're writing about, not only will it keep your reader engaged and entertained, but also make your article look so much more better.

Consistency Is Key

I've seen so many Vocal reviews of someone upset because they've been using the platform for 4 months, have written less than 10 articles, and they see no progress.

Like anything in life, consistency is what matters. Vocal isn't a get rich quick scheme. Like any other job you have to be willing to put the time and effort into what you are doing.

Unless you're constantly winning challenges you're not going to start off making thousands of dollars a month. Is it attainable? Of course. With patience, content, and quality.

Get Picked As A Top Story

While you have no control over this, the value of your content will lead to being picked. A well written, engaging, thought out article will most likely be posted on the Top Stories page. As stated in my review, not only will this increase your reads dramatically but if the readers love it they will most likely look at your other work too.

Read Other Articles On Vocal

It took me a while to see what I was doing wrong with my articles because I was so focused on publishing content and stalking my stats. Once I started actually reading and liking the content that other writers have posted not only did that make me realize what readers were looking for but it also showed me what Vocal was looking for as well.

Take time out to read the articles that make it to the Top Stories and then surf around Vocal and look at articles in the categories that you like writing about. Pay attention to how they present their topic and how they keep their readers engaged. You don't want to plagiarize anything but take note on what the category is saturated with and what hasn't been posted yet.

Vocal loves content that stirs emotion, things that are funny, content that is relatable, and articles about things that are current/trending.

Write What You Love

Vocal has enough categories for everyone to dabble in a little bit of everything. Play around with some topics, give others a try, but whatever you do don't force it because not only will you burn yourself out but your content will also lack a voice.

For example I wanted to write about mental health so I wrote 5 Ways To Deal With Anxiety and The Benefits of Meditation. While they are great topics and I can relate, I personally didn't like writing in the style that I did.

What I do love is writing about ways anxiety has effected my life and the ways that I deal with it. Not only would that article have value but it would also have a more personal voice to it because I'm writing what I know in the way that I like to write it. It would also be more relatable to a lot of people.

In A Nutshell

Its not impossible to make it on Vocal Media. They have the platform, the categories, and the readers already here and all you need to do is bring your content. Utilize social media and word of mouth to get feedback on your work and gain more readers which can lead to you creating better content as well.

Authors Note: If you liked what you've read or its benefitted you in anyway don't forget to hit that heart down below and/or leave a tip. Good luck on your Vocal Media journey and thanks for reading!

product review
14

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.