Journal logo

More Thoughts On The Nature Of The Vocal Challenge

When I Joined Vocal I Was Looking For Easy Money. I Found Friendship, Love, Encouragement and Joy In Writing

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
9
A Challenge

The Vocal Challenge Honeypot

I’ve said this before and I will probably say it many times again, I was tempted to Vocal because of the opportunity to make a lot of money from winning the writing challenges. I am sure I am not the only one who was tempted like that and once people realise that they are not going to make money from winning they either leave or reassess their position.

I took the latter option and though I have dabbled with alternatives, at the moment I still see Vocal as my favourite and preferred option. But why is that?

The Vocal Challenge Realization

My first Challenge I thought I would be automatically entered into it, so I missed out, but then Challenge after Challenge I came to see that I wasn’t going to win.

That won't stop me from entering challenges and writing observational pieces like this, although I often think my opinions are generally disapproved of and I am seen as a very negative or threatening person by many, that is just my paranoia speaking. Though just because you are paranoid does not mean they are not out to get you in one way or another.

We know the standard of writing is generally high (though I cannot hit those heights) throughout Vocal and does benefit from the moderation and the restrictions on what you can post and how long the articles should be.

Prose is six hundred to five thousand words and poetry from a hundred words, and we do see a lot of poems, but when a haiku is only seven syllables sometimes Vocal stories need some explanatory padding.

The Vocal Challenge Acceptance

I have probably entered every Vocal Challenge since I have been on Vocal since April last year and not even hit a runner up spot but I now regard it as a writing prompt rather than a chance of winning some money.

The fact that I have not received a Vocal writing bonus since the 22nd of February for a Top Story where before I could count on two or three awesome stories a month and the odd Top Story but it looks like I am off their radar, but that is paranoid because I know my Vocal friends and audience see and are impressed with my writing.

I usually intend to write a single Vocal Challenge entry but then sometimes people ask for follow-ups such as in the Fantasy Prologue and the Ship of Dreams Challenge. In the latter, my first entry was rejected, though still published, so I did write another, and then people asked me to follow it up. This was the rejected one.

I do not expect to be a winner or even a runner up but I have total confidence in the stories I write, and that is backed up by the people who read my work, and that means that I will keep on writing because I know I have an audience.

The Vocal Challenge Conclusion

Vocal has changed my focus on writing from making money to just actually writing and improving every time I create something. While Vocal may not see or notice my work, all my friends and my audience do, and that is a huge blessing for me.

Others may see things differently and I have seen some very angry people who have left Vocal because they can’t get what they want, but I have what I need and maybe one day I will get a little more.

product review
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jason Ray Morton 2 years ago

    Yep. Good job on this one. You’re not alone in your opinions.

  • Made in DNA2 years ago

    The whole idea of the Challenges is nice, and yet, can be wholly distracting. I am forsaking the latest Dragon Challenge myself as I'm not a fantasy author and I am already neck-deep in a short story (8K words) for an anthology that has a deadline of June 15th. Focus is important.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely review!!😊💕

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    I love reading this type of stories you make. I feel the same way. Very reliable

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.