Journal logo

Met My Roommate Through TikTok

How I Moved to Houston

By Jojo♡CoshscurePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
TikTok logo.

Would you believe me if I said I found my roommate through TikTok? Yes, it's true. The irony of it since TikTok is a musical platform. Some people find their roommates through Omegle, Skype, Roomies, Sparerooms, etc, etc. My sister found her boyfriend through Omegle. It's all luck on how we utilize technology in this modern century. And yes, my sister and her boyfriend are still together to this very day (surprisingly).

Omegle logo.

Am I saying things like this works? Not always. It's like finding a job. Jobs are competitive, so is finding the right person to be your roommate. There are many ways to find your roommate (who you vibe with and get along with [because we don't want a Taurus with a Taurus {because gorrrl been there done that--I don't recommend}]).

I was in the creative process of creating a dance group based in Houston, TX. My friend Cookie was already based in the Houston area--and we talked on and off about being in an active dance group to perform at conventions/ anime-cons. Therefore, I went on TikTok and then searched with: "#dance #kpop #houston". And then I came across a lot of people with those specific hashtags.

My TikTok page.

I came across this guy and DMed him. Approximately, 2 months later--we met for the dance group. All in all, with the convenience of me wanting to move out as well. So, here I am--having met my roommate through TikTok.

How the move-in began.

At first, I met him for the dance group recruitment. However, down the road (another 2 months later), it was for convenience to be based in the Houston area. So, a total of 4 months later, I moved from Louisiana to Texas. A big move to a big city they say.

On the other hand, they say Texas is bigger and better. This also played a part in convincing me to hustle in the bustling city. It would be the same as NYC except for city buses and the metropolitan. Texas is bigger for sure, but bigger isn't always for the better. Texas is traffic, and traffic is Texas.

Houston ranked 3rd for worst traffic in the USA.

Working for corporate isn't always where we want to be. However, in this scenario, I'd say I fell in favor of one of those benefits. Getting a transfer. It made moving a lot easier than most 9-to-5 occupations. Lucky me, but rent is just as expensive.

Most people would rent a haul, but saving money is always the best choice. If you can without one, then do without one as they always say. I didn't have much to haul from Alexandria. Everything fitted perfectly into my nice motherly SUV. The only thing I did struggle with was my couch-bed. It's gonna be sitting in the trunk until my next motivational spurt (where I can get a helping hand up to the 2nd floor).

I can say that moving to a different state is like moving to a different country. It's the state law that makes it feel that way. Immersed into a whole different culture. Now, I'm just anticipating for someone like my ex to tell me "Here, we don't put ketchup on fried chicken".

All in gratitude, doing things by yourself and planning a solo lifestyle is by far the hardest way to achieve things. Relying on others is okay. A colony of ants would not exist with just one--just like our community. We would not exist without one another. A business would not thrive without consumers. Passion cannot grow without support. Water your plants, people.

My move to Texas would not have been possible if the idea for a dance group had not conformed with Cookie. It would not have been possible if I had not met my roommate through TikTok, Lamar. It would not have been possible without my wonderful managers. Most of all, thanks to the support of my family--my mom, dad, brother, and sister for always looking out for me.

I do get homesick sometimes, but I can always drive back for a visit (like my cousin Kayla coming to visit me frequently). I miss homemade family-cookings most nights-- but deprivation makes it all the worthwhile and more tasty!

Stir-fried beef served with rice and lettuce.

P.s. For the record, you're not allowed to drive whenever we have a drink out at the bar Kayla.

Kayla being a table-top dancer.

how totravelsocial mediacareer

About the Creator

Jojo♡Coshscure

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jojo♡Coshscure (Author)5 months ago

    Thank you for reading :)

Jojo♡CoshscureWritten by Jojo♡Coshscure

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.