Journal logo

Looking for a Job Is the Worst Job...

#WorkingLife

By Nancy DPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I think the worst part about looking for a job is that I don't have an income in the meantime. Not to mention, interviews are stressful. I feel like I'm not achieving enough in my life and there aren't a lot of job opportunities around. I even tried an unemployment agency, but I can't help but feel like they were completely useless. Mass online job boards seem to a constant repeat of the same jobs... always looking for new employees. However, nothing bothers me more than the painfully long application process for chain companies. If this all sounds too painfully familiar, don't worry... you are not alone and you still have time to get a job.

When looking for a job, you need to myself these questions:

  • Where do you want to work? Do you already have a place in mind?
  • What are your interests?
  • What are your skills? / What am you good at?
  • What is your personality type?
  • How far am you willing to commute for work?
  • Are there any opportunities right now?
  • What pay rate are you looking for?
  • What (if any) education or training do I need?

Where do you want to work? Do you already have a place in mind?

Unfortunately, I can't answer this for you. However, I can write down my answers as an example. I would like to work at a library, a museum, an art gallery or even at a candle store. I like candles, I would probably do well at a candle store. Better yet, I would like to work at a clothing store that I really like. Preferably with a discount.

What are your interests?

There is no need to over think this. Just write what you first think of. For example, I like new clothes, I like candles and I like dogs. See, it's easy! According to my interests alone, I could easily work at a candle store, a clothing store or a pet store.

What are your skills? / What are you good at?

For the sake of an example: I am good at photography, customer service, and I am good with animals. Unfortunately, the most realistic thing on this list is customer service. So I guess I will just have to be realistic this time around instead of looking for my dream job. With that said, I will also occasionally be looking for my dream job.

What is your personality type?

By this, what I really mean is... do you prefer to work in groups or alone? Personally, I prefer to work alone and if I find a job like that then great! However, I have not found that perfect job yet and I have been working on team skills.

How far are you willing to commute for work?

For me, the truth is... I really don't want to commute that far to work. Seriously, I would prefer to work at home if it were possible. Unfortunately, reality becomes a thing and lots of people have to commute to work. Of coarse, I would be willing to commute a lot further for the right job.

Are there any opportunities right now?

Sometime what is available might surprise you. I try my best to check out what job openings are available at my local library every once in a while. Sometimes there's nothing, sometimes there's something, and once in a blue moon... there is something perfect for me. With that said... I still don't have a job.

What pay rate are you looking for?

I know that chances are that you are looking for something above minimum... because you can't even live off of minimum wage. However, I personally just want anything more than my last job... which was only slightly above minimum wage. Not to mention, I am more than willing to work minimum wage for the right job.

Need some inspirational quotes to help keep you going?

Don't worry, I've got your back! Here are some of the best inspirational quotes for those who are looking for a new job.

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” – Confucius

"A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” – Albert Einstein

“Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.” – Winston Churchill

“Success is how high you bounce when you hit bottom.” – General George Patton

“If it scares you, it might be a good thing to try.” – Seth Godin

“Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.” – Thomas Jefferson

“If you spend too much time thinking about a thing, you’ll never get it done.” – Bruce Lee

“Whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re right.” – Henry Ford

“Getting fired is nature’s way of telling you that you had the wrong job in the first place.” – Hal Lancaster

quotes
1

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.