Journal logo

Let Me Introduce Myself....

My first blog!!

By From the Mind of NobodyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

First of all, thank you for reading this. I really didn’t think anybody would read this other than my wife. Welcome to what I hope would be the first of many blogs of random thoughts and rants that will hopefully make you think, laugh, share and discuss (and of course tip). I thought a good way to start this new relationship is to of course introduce myself. Now, despite the title of this page, I am a real breathing human being with feelings and not a robot. The title of this page is just a reflection of who I am. Despite my rather large stature (yeah I’m a big dude) you wouldn’t notice me if you saw me or engage me in conversation if you see me. I’m the human embodiment of the square peg in the round whole. I’m big but not athletic enough to be a jock and I’m nerdy but not nerdy enough to speak Klingon. The reason why I started this page because my wife thought it was a good idea to share my opinions and thought on the internet as a way to vent my frustrations, depressions and jokes (which means she got tired of me talking her head off). So let me tell you a little about myself and some of the topics I’ll be talking about in the future:

Personal

I’m in my mid 40’s and I’ve already reached my grumpy old man stage in which I don’t like almost anything of today and is happy to be lost in the nostalgia of music, television, sports and whatever else you got (of course there are exceptions) I’ve been married now for 13 years to the hottest, smartest and understandable women on the planet (love you baby). We have one son on the Autism spectrum. He’s a master builder in Minecraft, an expert impostor in Among Us and has a smart-alecky mouth (which he gets from me). We also have one dog that is just the cutest but a major diva.

Political Affiliation

I’m a registered Independent because I like to think for myself. I really don’t need talking heads with agendas from both CNN AND Fox News to tell me what and how to think by using labels and marketing terms that most people don’t even know what they mean.

Religious Affiliation

I don’t go to church every Sunday (or Wednesdays for Bible Study) but I do believe in a higher power. I’m just not one of those “Aunt Ester” types that feel the need to cram the Bible down your throat to judge you, or condemn you if you don’t believe or bully you if you believe something different. Just as long as the general message is to love and respect each other… we’re cool.

Comics

I love to read comics. I think I read comics almost as much as watching television. But like I said earlier, I’m not a full fledge nerd. I like to read Batman comics but I’m not going to go into a great diatribe about the physiological profiles of Batman or his no killing rule (although he has killed folks several times in both the comics and the movies, even the Tim Burton ones). By the way, I highly recommend reading Earth One Batman Volume 3. The story is awesome with plenty of action and drama. It was worth the 100 year wait between volumes 2 and 3.

Sports

I use to be a huge football nerd. For as long as I can remember, weekends in the fall meant I was to serve the football gods in the college (I don’t have a favorite but I absolutely hate Ohio St) and in the pro ranks (I’ve been a fan of the Washington Football Team since I could talk). I use to follow the Heisman watch, NFL draft, training camp and preseason. However, like I said earlier, I have reached my grumpy old man stage and sort of fell out of love for football (also the depression helped with that as well). I’m slowly trying to get back to football, even fantasy football, and I’ll try to give my opinions on games. Although let me just say for the record, the college football playoffs might as well be put together by Vince McMahon with how the “playoff” have such an WWE feel to it.

Mental Health

You may have noticed I’ve used the word depression a few times in this post. I have been diagnosed with congestive heart failure and a birth defect in my heart which contributes to my depression. As you may also tell, I also have some self-esteem issues as well. I’ll try to be upbeat and positive about my condition and mental state. I hope to inspire or be an outlet with other people dealing with similar problems.

Well that’s all about me for now. I hope you’re just as excited to read more of my blogs as I am to write more blogs. You can also follow me on Twitter @MindofNobody1 for random thoughts.

career
1

About the Creator

From the Mind of Nobody

The whimsical, unusual and sometimes brilliant rantings on a variety of topics, from comics to sports, from a complete nobody with nothing to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.