Journal logo

Know Your Value

The Importance of Standing Up for Your Worth as an Image Consultant

By Jen AuhPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Know Your Value
Photo by Harper Sunday on Unsplash

As an image consultant, I understand the power of personal branding and its impact on an individual's success. How you present yourself to the world can influence how others perceive you and affect your personal and professional opportunities. For this reason, I take my work very seriously and strive to provide the best service possible to my clients.

Recently, one of my contacts contacted me asking for a group session for 6-7 people. The price I quoted for the session was $1800, which I believed was reasonable given my level of expertise and the value I provide to my clients. However, my contact responded by asking for a discount and offering only $300 for my services. This was an insulting offer that did not reflect the true value of my work.

It can be difficult for people to understand the true value of certain services, especially if they have never experienced them before. As an image consultant, my work goes beyond just providing fashion advice or makeup tips. I help my clients develop a personal brand that reflects their unique personalities, goals, and aspirations. This involves understanding their values, assessing their current image, and creating a plan for how they can best present themselves to the world.

The impact of this work can be significant. A strong personal brand can help individuals stand out in a competitive job market, attract more clients and customers, and build stronger relationships with others. It can also boost confidence and self-esteem, which can positively impact all areas of life.

For this reason, I believe that my services are worth the investment. While it may seem like a significant upfront expense, the long-term benefits of a strong personal brand far outweigh the initial cost. Additionally, I work with my clients to create customized plan that fits their goals, so they can feel confident that they are getting the best value.

When my contact offered only $300 for my services, I felt insulted and undervalued. It can be not easy to price expertise and experience, but I know the value I provide to my clients and the impact it can have on their success. Asking for such a significant discount felt like a dismissal of my skills and knowledge, and it was not a fair reflection of my work.

It can be challenging to navigate these types of situations, but professionals need to stand up for their worth and communicate their value to others. While giving in to lower-priced demands may be tempting, doing so can ultimately hurt both the professional and the client. Professionals who consistently undervalue their work may find it difficult to attract high-quality clients or maintain a sustainable business. In contrast, clients unwilling to invest in quality services may miss out on valuable opportunities for growth and success.

In the end, I respectfully declined my contact's offer and explained the value of my services in more detail. I offered to work with him to create a customized plan for his needs, but I clarified that my rates were non-negotiable. While it was difficult to turn down potential business, I knew it was the right decision for my own professional integrity and the long-term success of my business.

As professionals, it is essential to understand and communicate our values to others. We must be willing to stand up for ourselves and our work, even in the face of challenging situations. While turning down potential business or navigating difficult conversations can be difficult, doing so can ultimately lead to greater success and satisfaction in our work.

As an image consultant, I know the impact that a strong personal brand can have on an individual's success, and I will continue to provide the best service possible to my clients while standing up for my own worth and expertise.

adviceworkflowhow tocareerbusiness
1

About the Creator

Jen Auh

I'm a founder of STYiLES, a bestselling author, a creative director and an image consultant with 20+ years of experience in the beauty/fashion industries. I share my expertise to help others thrive. Learn more at www.jenauh.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.