Journal logo

Just Do It-I DID/PART 2

Determination

By Tammie ColePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
SUCCEEDED

The home-health clients that I worked with required specific assistance. There was cleaning, cooking and shopping. Before when I said there were similarities between the two. I must clarify that in my employment only the cleaning possibly was the same. Thinking back nursing facilities had housekeepers. So; therefore, I only had to make beds, gather any dirty linen, keep their belongings and furniture organized. Moving forward I continued to work as a certified nurse’s assistant for a while. While still being employed as a home health aide. At one point my certification expired, in 2010 I attended nurse aide classes again, and achieved that certification for the second time.

That time around the classes was offered through Panola College but in Jefferson, Texas. After working in both fields up until sometime in 2013. I needed a change the next relocation was Marshall, Texas. For several years I took a break from the health care field. There came an exciting change in my life. My first and only grandchild a grandson was born. This was different going from raising my two sons, taking care of hundreds of individuals, and then a whole newborn. For a change I was needed to care in a different way at a different time. I devoted my time anytime needed for my grandson.

No matter with no exceptions I was proud and excited. As the years rolled by and he got older it was time for him to attend school. Every other Spring, Thanksgiving, Christmas and Summertime break from school. I was there nurturing, caring for and helping him. Not to mention various other times. One day I member some words stated by a male speaker at a nursing home. At this moment I don’t remember his name, but I can recall his words. This statement and a question in one. He said and I quote “Are you a wolf or a sheep?’ Basically, he was asking where we saw ourselves in a long-term goal at that very moment. At that time when he spoke those words to everyone in that room, I didn’t fathom what he meant. Over the years I began to realize that I am not a follower. I was born to be a leader. I never was a sheep but a wolf in a certain way.

April 2017 early in the morning before sunrise. A commercial comes on and it was as if it was for me. I knew beforehand that it was time to put my focus back on my path in life. As I recall writing down the information for this college. The next day after contacting this university my life changed for the next three years. It started out as somewhat of a challenge for me. This was not going to be easy. Of course I was given instructions to begin the courses. Believe me when I say that it was not a similar task. The first 3 weeks were a challenge for me. I will admit that it was a struggle.

I had to sit and think about everything whether to pursue this degree or throw in the towel. So, I decided to get organized and focused. First beginning to take notes on everything. Next making checklists for every four weeks. You see each course lasted for that amount of time. Third on the checklist list what requirements needed to be done. Once you finished each task color code before hand. Place a checkmark ✔ and date each page. You began to notice that the tasks, courses and time are going by faster. I had various instructors and they were all helpful. There is a lot that I learned to be successful by multi-tasking and strategizing.

career
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.