Journal logo

JUST DO IT- I DID

Determination

By Tammie ColePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Succeeded

For the longest, I had wanted to go to school to earn a degree in Health Service Management. It has been a long-time goal of mine for years. My answer would be to start as a nurse assistant. After graduating from high school, my purpose in life began. I always had a passion for helping others. So, it was just natural to start a career in the Healthcare Field. I remember starting my classes to try and become a certified nurse assistant. I had no idea what to expect on that journey of my life. It was new and exciting to continue learning and having my first job within that field. After attending elementary, middle, junior, and high school, my educational journey did not end there. Sometimes in life depending, on the job or position, you will most likely need some certification.

After several weeks of attending my classes and completing my clinical at the same nursing facility: I became sometime later certified, and I could work anywhere in Texas as a CNA(certified nurse assistant). At this nursing facility, I worked and gained experience in the small town of Jefferson, Texas. It came a time when I was ready to relocate from my hometown to a bigger city. In making this decision, I knew there would be numerous places to work. I was familiar with Dallas, Texas, because I visited there many times as a kid. I set my mind on that location and began to prepare for the move. I had acquaintances living there already; therefore, a place to reside not a problem.

Weeks later, I departed from my birthplace and relocated to Dallas. My destination took me to Garland, Texas. Upon arrival, I had employment due to applying at various nursing facilities beforehand. My next step was to get settled and start work in two days. As time went by, I worked at several nursing facilities. From 1994 to sometime in 2000, I worked in three different cities at various facilities. I gained an enormous amount of experience and training from these nursing facilities. Now I became homesick and was yearning to come back to East Texas. As a result, in 2000, I relocated to Longview, Texas. In this city, I had opportunities to work at several facilities. My stay was there were several years. For myself some time living in a big city, I started to miss that country's life. I eventually move back to Jefferson, Texas. The same nursing facility that I started at is where I went back to work. In September 2009, I had the opportunity to get into working as a home health aide. All the while continuing to remain employed at my job for the current facility.

Over the years, I went from having employment at two different home-health agencies to being employed at several nursing facilities and home health agencies. There were some similarities and differences. One similarity was cleaning. In the nursing facility, you had to keep the residents' rooms clean. Your home-health client your duty was to keep their home cleaned. Job duties at a nursing facility varied depending on your resident's needs. Also, what shift you worked made a difference too. My day began at 6:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Once you arrive, clock in, and go to the nurse station, there is a job duty sheet for that shift. You have a linen cart on the hall that you are assigned. There is a linen closet to get the required items and supplies needed for your shift.

It depends on the protocol and the strategy that works for you at that moment. Depending on the number of residents and if short-staffed with employees. Over the years and at the various nursing facilities, I learned that once you clock in for your shift, begin to check on your residents immediately. If, not some of your residents might be in an unsatisfactory state. We will leave these episodes for a later time. Back to the job descriptions; because there were several. Upon checking on your residents, breakfast time arrives. Once again depending, on your strategy and strength. Some residents could be bathed and dressed before the breakfast meal even was ready to be served. I learned that to get everyone the proper care. Every job duty accomplished at the time had to be an efficient plan already in place. During the morning shift, you are responsible for assisting with two meals breakfast, and lunch. So, therefore there was enough time to fulfill every job duty. It all depends on the residents. Some needed total care, some needed assisted care, and others slight care. Working at the various nursing homes, you had to aid with meals, bathing, cleaning, making beds, bathroom assistant. Once again, it depended on what type of care everyone needed.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.