Journal logo

I want to Create

Finding my passion

By Grace Gettys Published about a year ago 3 min read
2
I want to Create
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

“What do you want to do with your life?”

“What are you passionate about?”

“Have you chosen a career?”

I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life or what I wanted in a career. People starting asking me this in high school long before graduation. I told myself that I had four years to think about it and that it will come to me eventually. Senior year, we all had to pick what we wanted to do, so I said marine biologist. Why not? I loved the ocean and learning about what swam under the waves. But realistically could I see myself doing that? No.

“What college do you want to go too?”

“What is your major?”

“What is your career path?”

I had no idea what I wanted my major to be or what college I wanted to go to. I decided to go to my local community college to get my General Studies Associate’s degree. I had two years while completing that to determine what I wanted to pursue. I would get excited about attending my writing and English classes, especially my Shakespeare courses. I graduated with my Associate’s degree with still no idea where to go from there.

“Have you thought about what university to attend?”

“There are a lot of options depending on what you would like to do.”

“What do you like to do?”

What did I like to do? I like to read and I liked art but what could I do with that? Some friends needed another roommate in a new town so I used that to choose a university that was in the same area. I like to write so why don’t I pursue English? I took some great literature and English classes that helped me figure out my skills as a writer. I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in English with a focus in Creative Writing. I had two years to figure out what I would do with that while I was attending, but I still had no idea once I finished.

“What do you do with an English degree?”

“Have you thought about being a teacher?”

“You could teach English?”

I could teach English, I guess. That was something I could never see myself doing. I don’t work in an English related field, but I know eventually I’ll get there. Everything starts at some beginning and I thought my beginning was here on Vocal. But then I began thinking; when did I actually start? I have always loved to create whether that be writing stories, painting or scribbling doodles on sticky notes. In elementary school, I would write journal entries that were from my original characters. In junior high, I would write short stories in designated notebooks when I was done with my homework. In high school, I kept different jars of story ideas for my upcoming novels I still need to write. In college, I wrote a family history piece about my great grandma’s story and how she escaped Czechoslovakia during World War II. My grandma printed it out and made them Christmas gifts for everyone in my family that year. Post graduation, I wrote my story Alone that was chosen as a Top Story on Vocal. I will never feel the same elation as I felt when I was reading comments from strangers on how they enjoyed my story. I got my first subscribers from that story. People wanted to read my work! I still feel a rush of giddiness when I think that people enjoy my writing. I even had someone reach out to me to ask if they could narrate Alone on their YouTube channel.

I never felt like I had a passion for anything until I remembered the feelings I had when I was creating. Even with my painting and drawings, the pride I felt after making them was proof enough I had a passion. Now when I am sitting on the couch doing nothing, I feel the urge to create: to pick up a pencil, a paintbrush, or to type words onto a page. I wish I could go back in time and tell my high school self that it is okay that you feel lost in what you want to do with your life because that feeling will come.

So now when people ask me what I want to do, it is a simple answer. I want to create.

career
2

About the Creator

Grace Gettys

I am an avid storyteller that likes to write about anything that inspires me whether that comes from visiting the beach or blogging about what is on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.