Journal logo

I'm Not Equipped... At Least, Not Yet

A short journal entry about the new challenges

By ChloePublished 11 months ago 3 min read
I'm Not Equipped... At Least, Not Yet
Photo by bady abbas on Unsplash

You see, when I first arrived on Vocal, I thought that I was going to win the world... and all of its many Challenges. However, it became evident to me after my first one or two that I would not be able to accomplish my dream of constantly winning. In fact, I didn't even place in a Challenge until February of this year, and I joined in October of last year!

As the title says, I don't feel properly equipped for all these new, fancy Challenges. When I first heard about the Vocal Writing Awards, I thought, "Holy cow! I can submit my Kin writings into the Science Fiction area!" But then I second-guessed myself:

"I don't write short stories like Vocal wants. I write books."

And what about the Next Great American Novel Challenge? The first moment I saw it, I jumped into writing a story, one that was almost related to To Kill a Mockingbird (the greatest book I've ever read besides The Tale of Despereaux). But I realized within the first, oh, five seconds that I 1) wouldn't place anywhere in the Challenge, 2) did not have a stable idea for a story, and 3) had no chance of winning.

I, a small author who dreams of having her books in the big-banger bookstores like Books-a-Million and Barnes & Noble, have no chance of writing the first chapter of the next Great American Novel. I don't write short stories like that- I write books!

But obviously, the Vocal Judges don't want to read my 200-som'n page book Partners or my book-in-progress Kin. That's literally why we have Challenges- so we can think of stories without the whole book idea. And that's (literally) why I can't do Challenges very well. Especially not these new ones. I think in books, not short stories!

I don't feel very equipped. I, unfortunately, am a writer of books, long-term stories, instead of a writer of short stories. I doubt the Vocal Judges will ever think of opening up their Challenge section to actual books being written... and if they did, I sincerely doubt I would win any of their Challenges.

"If you write books, why don't you enter the Next GAN Challenge?" you ask?

I don't have the skills for it. I'm currently in the process of writing a book, or two, or maybe three if I finish my notes, and writing the first chapter of the next GAN seems like something a whole lot bigger than finishing the fifth chapter of my third book. For some reason, it seems like a greater responsibility than writing about the dystopian lands that I have stored in my imagination.

Of course, the GAN can be fiction, as seen from some that I've read in the past. But not science fiction. Not the things that I usually write.

I would love to enter the GAN Challenge and the Vocal Writing Awards, but I don't have a chance at winning, or at least the chances seem very slim. The judges have only ever been interested in one of my writings (or maybe two, because of my weird streak of Top Stories back in April), I don't think I have a big ol' chance at it like some of the other amazing creators do.

Some of the creators I admire most, like Em Starr and Gina C. and Cathy Holmes would probably have a chance (You guys are amazing, if you see this! I admire your work.), but as for me I'll stay out of it. Unless I happen to stumble upon something that brings me an immense idea.

Until then, I'll stick to writing my books in secret. Hopefully I can get a publisher (instead of self-publishing), and, one day, there'll be a book of mine in Books-a-Million. But by then I probably won't have entered a Vocal Challenge, either. Baby steps, right?

Just kidding.

See y'all later. If I happen to actually enter my Kin writings into the Vocal Writing Awards... then well, I might actually have a chance.

social media

About the Creator

Chloe

she’s back.

a prodigious writer at 14, she has just completed a 100,000+ word book and is looking for publishers.

super opinionated.

writes free-verse about annoying people.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ChloeWritten by Chloe

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.