Journal logo

I Lied

About a Few Things

By RJPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - December 2023
14
I Lied
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

My failures have been shoveled into my face more than I’d like to admit lately. I feel stagnant and somehow like I have no time to stop moving. I keep thinking if I work harder, or longer, then I’ll earn the free time I crave. But ever since getting on this ride, I haven’t seen a way off or out. I'm getting ahead of myself though, let’s start at the beginning.

I wrote an article three years ago around this time of year titled “Why I'm Never Working a 9-5 Job Again.” Never? I thought as I typed the title, apprehension seeping in even then. Yet, the point wasn’t that I actually never worked a 9-5 again, but that I tried to live off my creative pursuits. At least that was how I rationalized it to myself.

“I'm putting it out into the universe that I'm not working any more jobs. Time is our only finite resource, and I can't allow myself to waste another second doing something I don't like.”

-Me, Why I'm Never Working a 9-5 Job Again

How magical. Though noble and still the end game for me- living off art long-term proved to be more difficult over the years. To start, I decided to finish my finance degree and move back to Oklahoma. While I was in school I slowed down on writing, and drawing waxed and waned with how sane I felt. I had built a routine and saw success when I was focused solely on my art. However, I’ve learned that if I have a singular goal, everything else falls by the waist side. I thought I was making a sacrifice that would give me a backup plan in case being an artist, like everyone tells me, didn’t work out.

By Anna Kolosyuk on Unsplash

So for two years I barely wrote, only drew when convenient, and just dedicated myself to school. In May of this year, I graduated, I walked the stage and shook hands with the president. I even have a picture holding my diploma in my cap and gown. It wasn’t until months later on a very unsavory phone call from my counselor (who made my schedule each semester per school policy) that I didn’t indeed graduate (I’m not bitter) and was a few credit hours short.

Now, by the time of this phone call, my life had already taken a severe swan dive. A relationship ended in a fiery blaze. The relationship ending was good- but let’s just say I incurred some expenses and had to replace some items including the iPad I created art on once in a blue moon. My car also bit the dust to a vicious pothole coming home one late night.

With my expenses doubled now that I was living alone it necessitated getting a job. Or rather- keeping a job because I had already started working a few months earlier, trying to stop a financial disaster preemptively. So while she drones on about how I didn’t graduate and that I could just take a CPR class and a class on picture taking I’d have my degree, all I could think about or feel was failure. My scholarships were on two-year timers and I was too broke now to even afford the two classes.

So I lied. The job isn’t a 9-5 but it’s grueling, time-consuming, life-consuming, and stress-inducing. It fits all the qualifications of what I didn’t want for myself. Despite my misery bills keep coming due, and the time available for creative pursuits continues to dwindle. I rely on motivational videos or sudden jolts of inspiration for motivation. I made some wrong choices, and some I was the victim of circumstance, but like three years ago, I’m craving a fresh start.

There is some freedom in having a purpose. Something clear to work towards. There is also some levity in the fact that I don’t have time to obsess over others' results. I’m lucky to get an article or drawing out, let alone worry about how much someone else is producing. This time it’s not so money or results focused.

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

If I rely on writing or illustrating to relieve me financially, you’ll be able to smell it on what I create and it’ll take away from what I’m trying to say. Which is, life is hard and it’s difficult to be consistent and hard to know what the right thing to do is. But if anything I’m saying feels familiar then you’re not alone. I don’t know if the changes will stick and if we’ll talk again soon, or if I’ll be gone for another year, crawling back to you again, defeated. Regardless, you’re not alone, and that’s the most I can offer until I figure out what the fuck I’m doing.

-RJ

career
14

About the Creator

RJ

Find me on Instagram at @awriterwhodraws

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenneth T Gauthier3 months ago

    As an industry expert with years of experience in the field, I must commend https://premiumghostwriter.de/ for their exceptional ghostwriting services. Their team of skilled writers demonstrates a profound understanding of various genres and writing styles, ensuring that each piece is tailored to perfection. The commitment to maintaining a high level of confidentiality and professionalism sets them apart in the competitive world of ghostwriting.

  • Bianca Wilson4 months ago

    I knew from the moment I saw the title that this would resonate with me and it did. Oof!

  • Leigh Hooper4 months ago

    This hit close to home, I feel you on this on every level. I hope this year is a good one for you and luck comes your way x

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    This is fantastic! Never feel frustrated by having to drop back to something you need. Just keep moving...

  • Kenneth T Gauthier4 months ago

    I've got to give a massive shoutout to https://dissertationguru.net/ Wizards of the dissertation world. From the first click to the final edit, it was a smooth ride. They didn't just write my dissertation; they elevated it. Quality, service, professionalism—everything was A+. If you're dancing with the dissertation devil, let DissertationGuru be your guardian angels. They're legit and know how to make academic dreams come true!

  • Test4 months ago

    Kudos! Keep excelling in your work—congratulations!

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Great piece. Hope you can throw off the shackles of 9-5 and get back to doing what you love. Your writing style is brill.

  • Antoinette L Brey4 months ago

    very relatable piece

  • K. Kocheryan4 months ago

    I know how you feel. Hopefully, the new year will bring you better times.

  • C.R. Hughes4 months ago

    Ugh RJ. I'm so sorry about how difficult this year has been for you. This hit way too close to home. You're right, life is unpredictable but failure is apart of the process. I hope you're able to bounce back from this stronger than before. And please keep writing in the process. I think we all need something to look forward to. Much love ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.