Journal logo

I Grew My Instagram Theme Page From 0 to 2,000 Followers

An in-depth guide from a meme account owner

By Davlin KnightPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
I Grew My Instagram Theme Page From 0 to 2,000 Followers
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

I run a meme account.

Any other time, I would be embarrassed to say so, but this time I have an excuse.

Growing this account has been a journey. I have met so many nice people and some awful people as well. But overall, I have grown into a community that I love.

This big weird community that appeared overnight.

I woke up one morning to thousands of notifications. New followers, likes, comments, and even messages.

I remember smiling as I scrolled through all the notifications.

And it was to my surprise, that it was only one post that made me go viral.

So, how did I do it?

1. Starting a Theme Page

I have a lot of memes saved on my phone.

Over 7,000...

Yeah…I wasn’t lying when I said a lot.

All these hilarious videos and images were just sitting on my phone.

So starting a theme page for me was as simple as creating an account and posting whatever was in my gallery.Take a scroll through yours. Do you have thousands of photos? Other than yourself. Obviously.

If not, then let's come up with a theme for you.

Off the top of your head think of that one thing you love.

Whether that be science, nature, writing, aesthetics, exercise, or food.

A theme page can be anything.

And what fuels that theme page is your passion for it.

If you aren’t passionate about what you are posting, then you won’t get very far. Posting on Instagram should come off as natural. And when you are posting about a theme that gets you excited, you will express yourself authentically.

You won’t have to try so hard to impress followers because you’re being you. Post what you like and you will attract a similar audience.

I love memes. They make me laugh and I wanted to share some of that laughter, so I started a meme page. Simple as that.

2. Where Do I Find My Post?

Most of my posts come from other communities.

I use Discord and am on a bunch of servers that post memes.

I just download them and post them on my page.

You can also use Pinterest, Twitter, or Reddit.

3. Growing a Theme Page

Hashtags are the fastest way to grow your theme page.

They are your ticket into the algorithm.

Without hashtags, none of your posts will be found.

And yes, I’ve heard the debate that hashtags are “useless” or that they are spammy. But honestly, hashtags have helped my account drastically.

I added hashtags to old posts on my page and it brought in tons of likes to them. Post from weeks, even months ago.

Behold the power of hashtags.

They might be “spammy” but they are the only legit way to grow.

Unless you rather buy fake followers, which completely ruins your account's authenticity.

Don’t be a fake.

4. Engaging With Followers

Instagram offers great tools for followers to interact. So there is never an excuse to not engage with your community.

You can post polls, questions, music, or links in the form of “stickers” on your story. I have used almost every feature and my followers enjoy them. It keeps them active.

And if you are feeling bold, let your followers shoot you a message.

Never know what type of friends you can make.

After all, you both have at least one common interest and you might have more.

I try to ask my followers “how was your day?” every week with a funny image or post in the background.

5. Consistency

Try to have a consistent posting schedule.

You should build this around when your followers are most active to get the most activity on a post.

Instagram has a cool feature called “insights” where you can see when your greatest amount of followers are active.

However, to access this, you need to switch to a business or professional account.

This is super useful, but remember anything can happen throughout a person's day.

I recommend uploading as much as possible in one day so your post can be found scattered in users' feeds.

This helps to reach more followers because not everyone has a set time of using Instagram.

Well, you now know how to start your very own theme page.

Let me know what type you are going to create and good luck!

social mediahow toadvice
1

About the Creator

Davlin Knight

Just an awkward guy with lots to share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.