Journal logo

Hydro and Go Seek

Living without the Power

By Kendall Defoe Published 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 6 min read
13
Hydro and Go Seek
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

What could you live without? If you had to give up something in your life, what would it be? Your laptop or cellphone? Your car? Your favourite food or drink? It is not easy to decide what it would be. But let’s suppose for a moment that you were not the one making that choice. What if something were taken from you that you barely acknowledged or cared about…until it was not there?

I was living in a very poor part of Montreal as a grad student with two other roommates who seemed to be devoted to keeping our place perpetually dirty and rundown. Our landlady would be in almost near-constant contact with us about the filth she both imagined and knew about in our place. Usually, her daughter would climb the stairs of the triplex to handle these problems, and I would act as a mediator. It may have also helped that the landlady was a relative of my family, and that I kept my part of the apartment presentable. I could deal with the pair of them with this evidence of respect. This was okay; this was easy.

The difficult part would be those outside forces that threatened to destabilize all of our simple plans for life as students trying to survive in the city. One roommate had to hide his car from the city because he was trying to avoid having it towed away after ignoring many, many – oh, so many – parking tickets. The other roommate seemed to be at war with his girlfriend’s parents who did not think that a black man with a spotty reputation was the best relationship for their daughter. I only had to find enough money to pay my bills and get enough food to survive while I waited for teaching contracts from different schools and businesses that needed ESL instructors. And that could be difficult. But it was not the most difficult part for all of us. We had forgotten about one little thing: Hydro Quebec.

We had many encounters with the gentlemen with the clipboards and readers. I had been the last one to move in, working with the assumption that the electric bill was covered with all three rent payments. But that was not so. I found out the hard way when I was interrupted making breakfast by a man at the stairwell entrance tapping on our door. The first time, being alone in the house, I did not want to let him in, but I saw the uniform. I spoke a little French and could understand that he had to read our meter. And then, a few months later, he returned again, this time when my roommates were actually at home. It was a different man with the reader and clipboard and I wondered about the stories that were being told about us down at the office. I even felt sorry for them. They had to climb up our flights of outdoor stairs to get to our third-floor apartment (the front door was used so rarely by us or the occasional girlfriend that I wondered why we bothered to have one). They were always courteous and friendly, even when warning us of our impending loss of power. They left a number on a card that we could have called to settle the matter with a payment plan. And we did nothing about it. “What can we do if we have no money, Kendall?” Wise and honest words from one roommate – I was living off of dollar store noodles and tuna; my other roommates had girlfriends with their pantries and generosity (one smart move on their parts) – but it was not enough to prepare me for what came next.

After one visit from the gentlemen from the HQ office, I returned one afternoon after classes to find that we had no power in our apartment. After a quick walk-through of the place, I noted that the fridges were dead, the lamps did not work, and that the sounds provided by electricity – hums, buzzes and the like – were gone (you never really know what you will miss). I also noted that the house was empty, and that the roommates would have their own response to this new situation that might be practical, sensible and actually helpful.

“Looks like they cut the power.”

That was all I got. No plans to put the money together and beg for a reprieve; no help with moving the remaining food out of the fridge; no help with my possible difficulties living in this new space. My roommates left me, quite literally, in the cold. They moved out and that was that. It was the beginning of spring, and I am convinced that was the only reason why they made the cut (there was some talk about how they could not cut the power in the dead of winter, but I really did not believe it). And so, I was on my own.

Now, how did I survive this situation?

With a lot of careful planning…

First, I was a student, writing my final master’s paper on Shakespeare and film. I had a portable laptop but also a portable DVD player with a battery I could charge at school and take home if I needed to watch anything that night (my laptop did not have a DVD player). Also, I did most of my work on campus, and I was still teaching around the city to make some extra money (ESL services did not stop for my problems).

I was also a runner, using the local park as a means of exercise. I noted that, every spring, cricket teams would be there on weekends, and I would continue my runs on the streets and sidewalks. But I was glad that they were there. I discovered that they did not clear out all of their trash when they were done with their matches. A cooler was left behind after one Sunday afternoon and I knew I had found my new fridge. With the right amount of ice and a change in my diet, I could get by. The biggest difficulty with being a runner was that I preferred to do my exercise in the morning before heading out to class. That meant taking a long shower and then getting ready for the day ahead. You can be forgiven for not remembering that electricity also warms the water you use in the morning (a sharp discovery that first morning). I would exercise at the gym between classes and work, making sure to never miss the chance to steal their hot water.

Now, I suppose you are wondering how my landlord felt about this change of circumstances?

They were quite amused.

Remember: they were also my family. When I explained the situation, the landlord’s daughter came up to confirm things, and she smiled as she saw my set up with candles and portable lights that ran without batteries. My mother, of course, soon discovered what I was going through, and came as close to giving me an order to return home as was possible for someone without any time served in the armed forces. She also wanted to do significant damage to the roommates who abandoned me, and it made me think about how this would be one of those stories I would one day cherish and share with my own kids: a Russian novel with more jokes.

To be fair, I only had two weeks in that unlit space. I mentioned my problems to a student who had information on an apartment that even I could afford, and I soon found myself moving out of there and avoiding any discussion with those roommates, or anyone who might have known about the situation (the owners of the local depanneur were probably upset that my purchases of a steady stream of ice cut off so neatly). I stayed in touch with the landlord – again, family – and even today I can find myself thinking about that time with a smile on my face.

But I always pay my electric bills on time…

A bulb goes off...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

heroes and villainshumor
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    It's like you were forced to pretend that you had electromagnetic hypersensitivity. Interesting article, Kendall! I used to change my abodes almost like disposable gloves during my bachelor's and master's studies; well, actually still do - just have a one-year breather right now. Seen things, though never experienced a long-term power cut. Your roommates acted like real assholes

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    Being young and broke is very relatable, glad you were so resourceful and can now look back and transform that experience into a compelling anecdote! Very well written!

  • This was so emotionally charged.... Sorry, that was the best I could do. Entertaining story, though.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    This triggered me. 😆 Brought back my own horrific memories of living with roommates, and sometimes having to choose between paying bills, paying rent, or eating. I can’t believe a man writing about Shakespeare and film didn’t have a girlfriend cooking for him.

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    "I was living in a very poor part of Montreal as a grad student with two other roommates who seemed to be devoted to keeping our plate perpetually dirty and rundown." "Plate" is a probably a typo I imagine. Hydro Quebec is polite? I guess they need to be with all the screw ups they've had over the years.

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    Quite the confession. Goodness, this is why I'm glad that I don't have roommates. Sure, it's pricey, but not overly so. I'm just glad that I have the job that I do. Besides, I don't have to worry about anybody else's mess or or them not paying their part of the bills. I remember hearing of stories about people who think that one person should be solely responsible for a bill based on their income alone. I hope that You're still running. If I may ask, do You speak Creole?

  • Omgggg! I am so sorry for what you had to go through 🥺💔 Your roommates were so terrible to leave you just like that. I'm so glad you somehow found ways to get by for thise two weeks!

  • Lana V Lynx12 months ago

    Oh what you can do when you are young! Why do students everywhere in the world have to be poor?

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Ahhh, this brings back memories. I was in a similar situation with roommates who didn't pay bills. But when I came home that day, only half the electricity was off. We were all puzzled and soon figured out that the downstairs neighbors were paying part of our electric bill the whole time. The landlord didn't even know that the wires were crossed and that most of our electricity was on the downstairs meter...lol. Thanks for sharing this story, Kendall. I enjoyed it.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Well-written exposė of survival tactics! I don’t think I could go with electric for two days much less two weeks. I really enjoy reading these snippets of real life stories.

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Adaptability - saving grace or coffin nail? A very well written piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.