Journal logo

How To Become A Millionaire Writing On Vocal

Or Medium, Or Winning The Lottery, Playing Scratchcards or Betting On Horses

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
12
Money

How To Make A Fortune Writing On Vocal

Last week I wrote a story that was published on Vocal and over the course of three days, it had over a thousand reads. Given that I seldom get more than five or six reads for my posts this was a bit of a shock.

You can read it below if you want.

I am trying to analyse what happened here.

My History of Search Engine Optimisation

It was an exercise in my own brand of SEO (Search Engine Optimisation) and clickbait such as. Many years ago I was working designing websites and there were companies offering to get us to the top of Google based on phrases using meta tags and hidden text that was basically cheating. I don't like cheats and told them so.

I had a site called Song of the Salesman which I designed and was basically an unlimited number of pages on Music used in adverts so that had thousands of pages indexed by Google and at its height brought in £400 a month but a combination of Shazam and people's attitude to music I retired it and just has a Facebook page here where I post the odd advert that impresses me.

How To Win The Lottery

You have to be in it to win it they say , but if you don't buy a ticket you don't lose.

How To Win Betting On Horses

If you don't bet on a horse you don't lose.

How To Win On Scratch Cards

If you don't buy a card you don't lose.

The thing is, while it is not a very good read, it is by far my most read Vocal Story by a factor of 5, 5 times more than my second highest story with is my directory and ten times more than my top actual story.

I have a feeling it was mainly robots a bit like my blog Seven Days In, which can get a hundred reads some days and thousands on other days. The thing is Vocal pays for reads so I am not complaining.

So what did I do?

I took the most-read piece on my blog and took 200 words for that and expanded it to six hundred words to meet the Vocal requirement.

So Far So Good.

I then included a few Headers emphasizing the clickbait in headers and the story title and subtitle. I then shared it on Twitter.

I shared links to a couple of books relating to the subject of making money and that was about it. My problem with this is that I am a great fan of white space and Spartan / Laconic writing, wanting to make my point in as few words as possible,

I vaguely thought of writing an article that said Make Lots of Money repeated over and over, but I do not think that would be acceptable on Vocal though I have seen things like that on Medium.

The Successful Money Making Vocal Writers

I have seen a few people bragging about the amount of money they make on Vocal and denigrating most Creators because they “know nothing” of Search Engine Optimisation. Most Creators are writing and creating because they want to do something that is good for them and their audience, not to make a monster to appease SEO and Clickbait.

One thing with my lottery post is that it got seven Vocal Hearts, so not many Vocal+ loves meaning that the readers may be mostly robots rather than real people.

On Medium I see lots of short posts saying how to make money from writing which is basically written and posted once a day and you will make a lot of money, with nothing about building audiences.

I make coffee money from Vocal. From reads, tips and bonuses I make an average of fifty dollars a month and pay ten dollars a month for my Vocal+ membership.

I saw one poster saying that she handmade $300 from her 15K reads on Vocal and screenshotted it to prove it. However, a little maths shows that at 0.6c a read that should work out at $90.

Vocal pays out for reads and while the Vocal Facebook Groups are great audiences you need to find audiences in other places than the Vocal Facebook Groups. And I do this if what I am writing is relevant to groups I am aware of but it doesn’t always work. I shared the post below on the Pop Will Eat Itself Facebook page, there was zero response.

Conclusion On Making Lots of Money On Vocal

I have included headings and clickbait in this to see if it will work again. The lottery post gained me $6 from reads. If this does the same I will be a little sad that clickbait and SEO make me more money than my creative writing.

This is a second experiment delving into the murky world of clickbait and Search Engine Optimization.

literature
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.