Journal logo

How I Found Success Outside the Traditional Career Path

A Journey of Self-Discovery and Entrepreneurship

By Verso de MedianochePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
photo taken and created on Canva

I had been working at the same job for years, but I never felt like my boss appreciated my work. No matter how hard I tried, it seemed like I was always overlooked for promotions and recognition. It was frustrating and demoralizing, and it made me feel like my efforts were pointless.

One day, I decided to take a hard look at my life and figure out what was holding me back. I realized that my job was just one of the toxic things in my life - I also had a messy breakup that I couldn't let go of, and a business partner from a small project that I created as a side hustle who never pulled their weight.

I started by focusing on my job. I tried talking to my boss about how I felt, but it didn't seem to make a difference. I started to dread going to work every day, and I knew that something had to change.

After a lot of soul-searching, I decided to quit my job. It was a scary decision, but I knew that I couldn't keep living my life feeling unappreciated and undervalued. I started looking for a new job, one where I could use my skills and be recognized for my hard work.

But as I was searching for a new job, I realized that I had a passion for something else - my side hustle. I had started a small project on the side, and it had started to gain traction. I loved working on it, and I knew that it had the potential to be something big.

So, I decided to take a chance and focus on my side hustle full-time. I poured all my time and energy into it, and it paid off. People loved my product, and I started to get recognition for my hard work.

It wasn't always easy, of course. There were times when I felt like giving up, when I felt like I wasn't making progress. But I kept pushing forward, knowing that I had come too far to give up now.

And eventually, all that hard work paid off. My side hustle grew and grew, and I found success doing something that I loved. I felt like I was living the life I had always wanted, and it was all because I had the courage to take a chance on myself.

As my side hustle grew, I realized that I needed help. That's when I turned to my business partner, Sarah. We had started the project together, but she had never really contributed much. I decided to have a conversation with her about her role in the project.

"Hey Sarah, can we talk for a minute?" I asked her one day.

"Sure thing," Sarah replied, looking up from her computer.

"I wanted to talk to you about our project," I said, taking a deep breath. "I feel like I've been doing most of the work, and I could really use your help."

Sarah looked surprised. "What do you mean? I thought everything was going well."

"Well, it is, but I feel like I'm carrying most of the weight. I could really use your help with some of the tasks."

Sarah nodded. "Okay, I see what you're saying. I'm sorry if I haven't been pulling my weight. I'll try to do better."

"Thanks, I really appreciate it," I said, feeling relieved. "I think we can make this project even better if we work together."

And we did. Sarah started contributing more, and we worked together to make the project even better. It was a great feeling to have someone else to bounce ideas off of and share the workload with.

As our project grew, I realized that I had found something that I was truly passionate about. I loved working on it, and I loved seeing it grow and evolve. It was a far cry from my old job, where I had felt unappreciated and undervalued.

Looking back, I realized that sometimes, the best job is the one that we create for ourselves. When we follow our passions and take a chance on ourselves, we can achieve great things. And for that, I was grateful.

But it wasn't just about the success of the project. It was also about the journey. I had learned so much about myself and what I was capable of. I had faced my fears and taken a chance on myself, and it had paid off.

In the end, I was grateful for Sarah's help and support. Together, we were able to create something amazing. And it all started with me taking a chance on myself and following my passion.

workflowhistoryfact or fictioncareerbusiness
Like

About the Creator

Verso de Medianoche

I'm hiding behind my pseudonym, but I'm liberating between my words. Is it just a fantasy, or does the truth rhyme on each page? You decide, and I'll write.

Let's have a coffee together sometimes https://www.buymeacoffee.com/versodm.writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.