Journal logo

Happily made

A journey. A story . A process.

By ncyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
handmade, hand-sewn fabric masks

2020 was a year that changed life forever. Yours and mine.

Remember the first Covid outbreak that scared people all around the world? The food shoortage because of the panic buying during the lockdowns and quarantines , businesses closed, well, all the world shutdown.

Not to mention, I also lost my mother for cancer that year. I didn’t have time to say goodbye in person because my family lives in different country. No fights that time. Everything just off. Silent. My own world shutdown too.

Thousand miles away from home, I was depressed. Survived by my little family, I had to put it all back together . Accepted the reality and move on. I have to start Creating my own happiness in the middle of sorrow.

I was born pretty much on crafty side. Everything handmade makes me feel I am a capable of doing things by myself, that I am able to create something unique, every piece tells their own story. Every piece is energy filled piece. Every piece has a journey. In every stitches , every cuts, every time the scissor makes a move, every needle and threads that going up and down through the material, they all has a story. But I was too depressed to be able to believe that I could do something that makes me happy and others happy during that time. Just like the world fell apart that time, so I was.

I started out with noticing the shortage of masks during the lockdown, so I made a little move by cutting the piece of fabric trying to create my own masks for myself, my husband and my little daughter. I didn’t use the sewing machine that time and decided not using it. I handsewn every single of the masks, not only that, I decorated the masks with ruffles, bows, embroidered patches and rhinestones.

I thought by putting something cute on the mask would make people wear it with happiness, excited each day to show off their masks to people they meet, at least it takes away the worry ness, the sadness behind the pretty mask. Now the masks become the statement piece. I started selling them out online and I got lots of positive feedbacks and returning customers that not only wearing them during the covid, but they need the masks because they have a health issue in their life that requires them to wear mask all the time.

I always believe in process, I spend most of all my morning to noon handsewn the masks, it becomes the zen moment to me. Every steps that I made, from cutting the fabric, to stitches by stitches, I admitted myself into the very peaceful moment in my life, I thought about my life, my family, my mom, my daughter and everything surround me. It actually brought me to moment that I self-reflected my self, i examined my own life , it became a some kind of meditation for me. I listened to the self help audiobooks, watched some motivational videos while making the masks for my customers. And it started becoming a happy habit for me every morning. I submitted to my work and it changed my life, changed the way I think and bring a positive vibes into my life. I let everything flow just like a water, release the wish to the universe and prayer. Nothing to worry, nothing to lose.

Even we are at the moment that masks are less required, but I am still making it, later on I would love to produce more items beside the masks, I just found happiness in making everything handmade. A happily made crafts.

I would say, we just have to adapt to the change, finding the silver lining in everything happens to our life, believe it our self, finding happiness in every thing we do. Get inspired. Be Happy.

art
Like

About the Creator

ncy

I am a crafter, I love everything handmade. Everything hand sewn. Haute Couture. Quirky. Statement pieces and edgy.

Art school graduated in visual communications design, stay home mom with busy crafting schedules .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.