Journal logo

Getting Into the Weeds Of Commentary on YouTube

One thing I learned early on about my love for commentary was the message that I had to spread and the perspective that would push it onward. I was never one that seemed to fit into any age group. It was lonely at times but gave me the teaching and experience I have now. It gave me the chance to have an outsiders perspective on the world and my channel is now the culmination of those very observations.

By Miss Opinionated Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I have said time and again that YouTube at one point was never a blip on my radar. Sure, it was a way that people passed idle time but no more or less. In my opinion, it was over-exaggerated acting and skits that people laughed at more for the uncomfortability factor than anything. Or it was just a place where people could go for tutorials.

I never understood how people could go for hours on end and be entertained by one person literally sitting in front of a screen.

Then it became a career passion of mine. Go figure!

What the platform could actually be used for versus a generic view from childhood made me want to not only question my personal perspective but also the attitudes, actions, and reactions of the creators that "made it" on the platform. Their voices were the loudest and therefore the easiest to dive into. The more I researched the more I saw a different side of life as a whole.

A lot of what I viewed to be tame to those outside of the platform's eye were being criticized while a lot of toxic behaviors seemed to fly under the radar. At the very least not many seemed to discuss these things.

And then I came across commentary.

One thing I learned early on about my love for commentary was the ability to share a perspective and have the chance to have others share theirs as well. It was a way to talk about deeper topics than just the so-called drama or beef between creators.

It was never about that for me.

For me, I saw a platform with problematic tendencies that should they disappear would then make way for a revolutionary platform that could make an actual difference in the world. Because of this, I felt the need to change my content and make a video on it.

Needless to say the first was well-received.

The response of that video then emboldened me to make a series of topics that over the course of my channel I would look into and participate in. I have never been shy about the harder topics of life and the effects that said topics can have on people. I will be the first to say I am not an expert but rather I seek the knowledge and perspective of those around me.

Discussion breeds thought and thought breeds change.

This mindset then set me on a path of research that has turned into a spiral of thoughts, questions, dilemmas, and problems that need to be solved. While I may never get all of the answers, I will gladly dedicate my life to searching for better.

The world deserves better and will never get there until we take the steps to learn and change in accordance with our beliefs.

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to read this. I have been so blessed to have this platform as an outlet for my creative expression and cannot thank you all enough for making it happen.

If you want more of my thoughts (trust me I have many) you can follow me on my YouTube channel! Here is one of my videos as an intro!

You can also fuel my drama and coffee addiction here!

I also make it a point to make a one on one connection with the community that comes around me and you can join us for special lives here!

social media
Like

About the Creator

Miss Opinionated

I am commentary YouTuber who focuses on behavioral patterns and perspectives beyond the drama in a sarcastic light.

YouTube: Miss Opinionated

Tik Tok: miss.opinionated

Twitch: opinionatedgirl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.