Journal logo

Funny money

From 9-to-5 to freedom

By Susan FourtanéPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
4
Funny money
Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

I was reading an article by tobi - Audio Writer about his First Earnings on Medium, where he wrote the following, and I quote: 

It's like funny money to me. And this is what some people do, full-time. This is some people's 9-to-5, that they don't have to jump the bus to work every morning (like me).

Tobi and I had been discussing other topics before, so I felt comfortable responding about what he was thinking with my real-life experience. I thought perhaps some other people think the same way about that "funny money." 

So, I decided to share this with everyone willing to read. And here is what I would say to Tobi, who without knowing, has inspired this little article with his "funny money" earnings story. 

***

It's like funny money to me.

It's not that simple, or easy if you are doing it professionally and properly. Writing has been my 9-to-5 for over 18 years. And I can tell you, sometimes the hours I have to work to get an article done and meet a deadline are way more than just eight hours of my day. I've had days of 12 and 14 hours, even 16 hours.

It also depends on what kind of writing you do, what topics, and so on. Sure, there are people out there who write about easy topics and get an article done quickly; even several articles out per day. 

One of my long-form, researched articles takes me several days. They usually include interviews and expert commentary on the subject. So, no, it's not always easy. It's not as easy as it seems. And it's definitely not "funny money" what I get since I do work a lot for those articles. 

***

Commuting vs travelling 

By Eugene Prunk on Unsplash

Yeah, this bus in the below zero snow storm vs the first photo diving in the sea, right?  

It's true that not having to jump onto a bus every morning is one of the best things. 

That's something that keeps me being grateful because I can work from the comfort of my home-office with no one watching over my shoulder to see what I am doing, and most importantly, I can change my work hours as I please. Sometimes I work mornings and afternoons, some other times afternoon and evenings. Sometimes I work weekends and take a couple of weekdays off. My freedom is precious.

I can travel and continue my work from wherever. I can work on a plane, from an airport, and have my work ready by the time I land, send my article as soon as I get connected to the Internet while queuing for passport control, and relax for a few hours in a new destination. Then, I start working on the next assignment on the following day. It's nice. But you also have to plan well.

Being a freelancer is sometimes risky because you don't have a steady income. There are months that are great and there are months that you have lots of time and no work or very little work that doesn't cover your basic expenses.

But yeah, not having to jump onto a bus every morning is something I am grateful for, especially when it rains non-stop like the past two days. Or when it's freezing cold outside or scorching hot. And I just sip my cup of tea, sitting at my desk, and looking through the window while writing. "I'm so lucky I don't have to go outside!," I always say to myself.

***

About the Author: Susan Fourtané is a freelance Science and Technology Journalist, a professional writer with 18 years experience writing for global media and industry publications. She's a member of the ABSW, WFSJ, Society of Authors, and London Press Club.

If you can spare one or two more minutes, perhaps you would like to read one - or both -  of the following micro-fiction stories. :) Thank you!

workflowtravelcareer
4

About the Creator

Susan Fourtané

Susan Fourtané is a Science and Technology Journalist, a professional writer with 18 years experience writing for global media and industry publications. She's a member of the ABSW, WFSJ, Society of Authors, and London Press Club.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 2 months ago

    "Funny Money" the article was written by someone that believes only hand labor or whatever . They have no idea what it takes to research and interview people then proceed to write the story . I worked at LA Times in the early 80s. Worked on the film and music industry in Los Angeles California and Austin Texas . Writing is a talent . Photography and film are perfection . People get their jollies these days by poking at peoe who are critical thinkers

  • Oh wow, you've been writing for 18 years! That's soooo awesomeeee! Also, it is such a privilege to work from wherever!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.