Journal logo

Flying through the air.. in a car.

Memories of my brother's driving skills.

By Patrick CalhounPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
Flying through the air.. in a car.
Photo by VizAforMemories ... on Unsplash

I have a memory that never fades. I'm sure some would say that it gets exaggerated over time, however, I would disagree. I try to remain true to the facts. Fact one.. I told him he was going to fast. Fact two... he ignored what I had to say. That does not mean he didn't hear me or that I wasn't clear in my wording, it simly means that he chose not to react to what I had stated. Fact three... it didn't end well. No one died, it just didn't end well.

There was a large family gathering that my family attended one Sunday. I don't remember all the details but I wound up riding with my brother in his car back to our paren'ts house. He was in his mid 20s and I had yet to reach my teens. Having that kind of age difference definitly made for a stereo typical "big brother / little brother" scenario in which I knew nothing of what I was talking about and he knew more, if not everything on the subject.

I remember that he drove a muscle car and the roads he drove home were a bit hilly as their were train tracks ontop of these small hills. As we were approaching the last set of tracks, I noticed that he was not slowing own. Now me, being a kid, probably sounded a little more excited that I should, however, I did tell him that we was going too fast and should slow down. Again, exact words I don't remember or in the manner in which I said them but I believe that I succinct in my words so that was clear he was going too fast and the threat of ddanger was upon us.

Now, I will not lie and say that I remember every detail but I do remember being higher above ground than we should be. Also, since this was a time when seatbelts were optional, I remember floating and trying to hang on. Now, these sensations and the emotions that accompanied them were short as gravity took ahold and we returned to earth.

There was no grand explosion or splatter of vehicle parts, nor was there the movie scene where we landed and drove away. Nope. We landed and something in the rear regarding the wheels broke. It was most likely a wheel itself that had snapped loose and not the axil breaking. Axil breaking would have been a better tale.

We laneded. My brother and I ask eath other if we were okay and we both said yes. The car, now broken, had made it to the shoulder of the road and we exited the vehicle. I know I said something, again, can't remember exact words. I can only recall something along the lines of "told you so." and then proceeded to walk to our sister's house which was about 4 blocks away.

We didn't talk much along the way and I remember getting to my sister's house. I knocked and when she opened the door, I told her he had broken his car, walked inside, and asked if I could get a ride home.

Sadly, that's what I remembered. How my sister reacted or our parents, I don't remember. I don't feel that anything bad happened afterall, we were both safe and unharmed. It was his car that was broken, not mine. I didn't own one but still.

Yes.. I realize as a child I was most likely disrespectufl. In the end though... I was still right. Little brothers DO sometimes learn from their older sibling's mistakes. Being a little brother with a big age diffrence in siblings was an interesting life. On top of this "flying", I grew up terrified and loving my siblings. Some tell me I should sell my stories to pay for therapy. I figure if I can paid, I'll be sure to tell them for sweet revenge and that will be all the therapy I need.

quoteshumorhistoryadvice
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Calhoun

Just a guy from Texas that has a wide variety of tastes. I do love the SciFi/Fantasy genres more often. The ability to image another world or a future is always bouncing around my brain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.