Journal logo

Fils d’Hathor

en les Fleurs des Morts

By Art by PreePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Dupree, Self Portrait as Une Fils d’Hathor en les Fleurs des Morts, 2.5ft by 4ft, Charcoal + Pastel on Kraft, America

Originally I was going to name this "Son of Venus" but I want to veer away from classical Roman/ Greek iconography. Therefore I named it Fils d’Hathor, which is Son of Hathor in French. She is the Egyptian equivalent to the Roman Goddess of love, and to me, more appropriate of a spiritual mother.

This was drawn per remark of Corey saying, “If you were going to draw me something, draw me you… ”. Let’s be clear he wasn’t saying he didn’t like the portrait of himself, he made it clear he adored it. Nevertheless this image was composed in my mind and brought to life maybe 72 hours later.

Starting on Christmas Eve I finished it Christmas Day with a total of 16 worked hours into this piece. I wanted to look divine to him when he looked at it. In historical art pieces only those of divinity were ever drawn naked. It shows their freedom and how unbound they are to the world. In my pose I wanted it to rever confidence, almost like a bestowment of myself to the viewer. The chain is the chain from my first self portrait and my Vanitas Still Life with a Broken Chain and Sage done earlier this year. It’s a gift from Corey, and symbolizes our love specifically in any piece, a reference forever to us. I kept my heart in color — red; passion, love, danger, lust — because it’s an ode to the goddess(s) of love.

The crown is where all the symbolism really begins. The style of the crown is Sunburst, hommage to my zodiac Leo. Adorned in the crown are hydrangea (heartfelt emotion, gratitude for understanding and apology), roses (passion, love and beauty), and skulled sunflowers (loyalty, adoration, and Corey calls me his sunflowe). The skulls are momento moris; an artistic or symbolic trope acting as a reminder of the inevitability of death.

Drawing the crown was my favorite part but the most difficult. The hydrangeas are not drawn in detail more in gesture, and I’m proud because I made them up from imagination. The roses started off as nothing just blank spots angled for placement and the shadows on them are completely imagined as well.

The crown started off as pure imagination and the desire that I wanted it there. I didn’t know the style of the crown until I looked it up on google. So it was just a big blurr in the shape I wanted it.

The sunflowers were referenced from a T-shirt worn by a client that comes into the dispensary I work at. You guys have to get used to seeing these because this is going to be my personal allegory! You will see them in a lot of future works so remember the references and meaning!

The body had its own challenges, mostly with the hands. Mostly because it was two seperate images. I had to take the initial picture in the mirror then hold the pose but switch hands so I can take the same picture again, but with the opposite hand placed on my thigh. The portrait is my biggest yet but still not life size which is the goal by the end of the following year.

Yes in 2023 we getting bigger, bigger and bigger!

The allegorical story in my head that I’m telling on paper with these images is so motivating. To have an idea and get it out into the world in less than 72 hours is amazing. The motivation and drive behind this image specifically is heart warming and I can’t wait to get it framed and gifted to Corey ASAP. This portraits final destination is unknown!

literaturereligionhumanityhow tohistoryheroes and villainsart
1

About the Creator

Art by Pree

My name is Dupree, pronounced DO-pre, and I started taking my craft in art more serious in 2021. During this time I have developed my on style of portraiture work using charcoal and graphite as my mediums of choice.

IG: preeirl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.