Journal logo

God’s Bull

Portrait of a King

By Art by PreePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Dupree, God’s Bull - Portrait of King Chain, 2022, 18”x24”, Charcoal on Bristol, Miami, Florida

This is a portrait of King Chain. He is the inspiration behind this piece and at the time of producing it, I pre assumed him to be the love of my life. Forever being an continuous support and drive in everything I do since we met. Never folding and always propelling me forward, our relationship has taught me many lessons. I was moved to create this to show my love and appreciation for him. I named the piece “God’s Bull”, because to me he is a blessing, born under Taurus. I pulled a lot of references from classical religious medieval art. I specifically chose the halo for its symbolism of spiritual power, whether from the intrinsic power found in a god(s) or that proscribed power by a god(s). The cross held in the right hand is an intentional continuation of refrences Christ blessing with his right hand depicted in religious art throughout history. It is also an ode to his family ties to Christianity. In the pose his head is slightly lifted and he is looking down upon the viewer in discernment, confronting them and drawing them into the composition.

Building this drawing, like all my drawings, is one of my favorite things. Here you can see I just started with all the values. Again only shading he darkest areas of the image and then slowly madding more values.

Here you can see ass I add more values the image starts to take form. All this is done with vine charcoal because it doesn’t set. It erases and moves easily and therefore creates the perfect base for starting an image. You can change mistakes or add whatever you need easily. Hint the halo in the beginning compared to the one in the final image.

The hall is probably the most notable parts of this piece. Very adorned and in your face. I embellished it with his zodiac (Taurus) and thin crosses, and a flower (not a sunflower, but it can be assumed). It was almost a complete bite off the halo below.

The shadows in the halo are imagined and so I am proud of its execution. The multiple values and just how perfect the shadow on the halo aligns with the face, I blew myself away.

The watch also was something for me to be proud of.

Strictly constructed out of value and just the idea of a watch being there. It isn’t completely drawn in in detail, but the lack of detail in it is what makes it beautiful, and a show of skill. There are no definite lines just plays of light and dark.

The cross in hand gave the same challenges as the halo because it wasn’t really there in the reference photo. I tried to repeat the same imaginary shadow in the cross in the halo (the cross was completed first). I really tried hard in giving it its sense of depth and weight.

When it comes to his locs I tried a different approach then on my own self portrait. Mine we made with pure eraser and I let one side even fade away completely into the darkness. How I tried to be more intentional with markings as well as eraser and shading. Trying to capture the light between the locs and all. Being honest with myself, I hate drawing hair and this didn’t come out ideal, but I again, am proud of the execution of it all.

The two portraits were ideally meant to be together but my older sister wanted the one of myself. Therefore that one is being sent to Germany where it will live with her until further notice. The portrait of The Bull will be sent to Miami, Florida where it will reside with the muse until further notice.

advicearthistoryhow toliteraturereligionworkflow
1

About the Creator

Art by Pree

My name is Dupree, pronounced DO-pre, and I started taking my craft in art more serious in 2021. During this time I have developed my on style of portraiture work using charcoal and graphite as my mediums of choice.

IG: preeirl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe Maleeabout a year ago

    So amazing!! Love all the attention to detail<3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.