Journal logo

Fear of not knowing where to go next.

Sometimes fear holds us back.

By Jalen LeePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Fear of not knowing where to go next.
Photo by Bernd Dittrich on Unsplash

I got fired from my job today and I don’t how to feel or what to do.

I feel…stuck. Like this is life all have to offer me, I’d felt stuck for a long time. I know I want more from life but I don’t know how or where to start.

And that’s from fear, the fear of rejecting the fear of not being able to get more from life, the fear of the unknown.

I know I’m capable of getting more, I know I’m capable of being great (not to sound cocky or anything.) but I’m aware of my talents, I’m aware that this isn’t all life has to offer and that I can get more if I would stop doubting myself, criticizing myself and move without fear.

My mother is always preaching to not be scary in this world and that being afraid gets you nowhere.

I have yet to master the act of living life without fear, fear of failing, fear of rejection or that I won’t be good enough.

And because of that fear, I’ve procrastinated on things that could gain me something other than laying in bed all day and watching tv, I’ve worked at the same job for a year because of the fear that this is all life is.

I don’t know where this life is going to take me, but I no longer want to fear the future, I no longer want to feel “stuck”

It’s time to get out of my comfort soon and follow my dreams, living life in the moment. Despite not knowing where the path will lead me.

Perhaps me losing my job is the push I need to go and do, live life, love everyday and do everything despite being afraid.

We’re always asking for signs from the universe or from our higher power and sometimes the signs are subtle or they be something that smacks you in the face.

I don’t know where this path of life is leading me and I’m not sure I’m even prepared or ready for it, but I’m also tired of hoping that something will happen.

By Yoel Winkler on Unsplash

I pray this journey is a delightful one and that my dreams will no longer be dreams but reality, I hope to one day look at back at all of the “fears” I had and laugh back at them.

The fear of not knowing where you’re gonna be tomorrow or the next year consumed me for quite a while, I was afraid that I’d be stuck on the same couch, doing the same thing, everyday.

And to some that life sounds enjoyable, to go by life day by day doing the same thing. It’s a comfort thing and I’m afraid that if I get too comfortable, I’ll stay even though I’m feeling stuck I would stay because it’s comfortable.

The world is scary, more scarier than before. I can understand the feeling of staying in your comfort zone, because life isn’t always rainbows and sunshine. It’s scary and to those who are comfortable in their life it’s okay. I understand.

And you can completely be comfortable at where you are, you can comfortable with your job. Your relationship status, your living situation. Because that’s why we make the decisions we make.

To live a comfortable life, but you can be comfortable and still do something more, change your routine for a day. Go biking, stay in. Sleep later.

You can be the most powerful person in the room and still fear anything.

Fear will never go away because of we want it to, we overcome one fear and there’s something else to be afraid of.

The point is we have to continue stepping out of our comfort zones, let this path of life take you on a journey without fear.

I hope you all will follow me and even join me, we can go through this journey together.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.