Journal logo

Fasting, Mitochondrial Biogenesis, and Quantum Biology

Mitochondrial biogenesis is the act of generating new mitochondria to reduce premature aging, ease pain, and diminish fatigue

By Greg LindbergPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

Quantum biology and mitochondrial biogenesis have always fascinated me. In late 2020, I became particularly interested in how they relate to fasting, one of the disciplines that soon made a significant difference in my life. Quantum biology, an emerging field of science, is when applications of quantum mechanics and theoretical chemistry are applied to aspects of biology. Scientists seek to understand fundamental quantum interactions like this, which determine the properties of the next level of organization in biological systems. Reading about quantum biology and applying certain principles allowed me to vastly transform my physical and mental health while in prison.

An indictment of bribery and conspiracy to commit wire fraud was returned against me in 2020 by a grand jury. However, my conviction was eventually overturned by the federal appeals court in 2022. A new trial has been scheduled for 2023.

I was jailed for almost two years. My stay in prison led me to write my autobiography, 633 Days Inside. It's a story of imprisonment, revelations, and a guide to leadership, life, and never giving up.

Throughout my prison stay, I read hundreds of medical and science journals. For example, I came across an article on mitochondrial biogenesis and the power of fasting in a medical journal published by Alistair Nunn, Geoffrey Guy, and Jimmy David Bell titled 'Thermodynamics and Inflammation: Insights into Quantum Biology and Aging.' The insights in this article, among others, transformed my life. They can change everyone's life for the better.

The Institute for Functional Medicine defines fasting this way: “Fasting has been used in therapeutic, cultural, and religious practices and traditions for thousands of years and is described as an abstinence from some or all foods and drinks for a set period of time. When fasting, the body experiences ketosis and undergoes a metabolic switch in its fuel source, from stored glycogen to fatty acids.”

I’ll explain how that relates to mitochondria below, but first, some background about me.

My Origin Story

Born in 1970, I grew up in San Mateo, California. My parents raised five children; I was the youngest. I can attribute many of my inherent characteristics to my parents. Although they weren't wealthy, they worked hard to provide for the family. My mother and father worked tirelessly to ensure I got what they did not - a college education. Inspired by their example, I developed a curious mind that was like a sponge for knowledge during my university years.

During my time at Yale, I earned a degree in economics. A series of events forever altered my life during this time. When I was 21, I read a medical newsletter that had poor writing and production quality. I realized I could have done a much better job and set about doing just that.

It took just a few months for "Home Care Week" to become a highly rated medical media resource. As a result of "Home Care Week," Eli Research was born, which evolved into Global Growth - the business I built from scratch.

A Deep Dive Into Fasting, Mitochondrial Biogenesis, and Quantum Biology

Despite being wrongfully imprisoned for months, I did not wither away. By studying esoteric subjects, notably Nunn, Guy, and Bell's article, I put the time to good use. I learned more about mitochondria, structures within cells that are known as the powerhouse of the cell. The main function of a mitochondrion is to produce ATP (Adenosine Triphosphate) which is used by the cell to perform metabolic activity.

Mitochondrial biogenesis is the act of generating new mitochondria to reduce premature aging, ease pain, and diminish fatigue. I experienced that process when fasting, which enhanced my mitochondrial biogenesis and elevated my existence.

Quantum tunneling is how scientists describe a particle “tunneling” through a seemingly insurmountable barrier. It is as if the particle magically passes through the obstacle. In his book The God Effect, science writer Brian Clegg described quantum entanglement, a phenomenon that Einstein thought too spooky and strange to be true. In a “spooky effect” experiment described in the book, two particles were separated at a substantial distance and when one particle was magnetically made to spin, the other particle began spinning on its own through some unseen connection.

During the first four to five days of fasting, I sensed a sort of spooky quantum tunneling between myself and other inmates, as though they intuited positive changes were taking place within me and were drawn to investigate. People who would never previously have introduced themselves approached me to introduce themselves and sometimes solicit advice.

We Were Created

Somehow, 4.5 billion years ago, bacteria developed quantum tunneling to communicate and then self-organized to survive. Scientists have yet to learn how these bacteria could have achieved such a transformation unless they were directed by nonlocal intelligence. It is my belief that Earth's origins were guided by nonlocal intelligence. In other words, we were created by a creator. This is something I genuinely believe.

The Beneficial Mechanism of Fasting

You will see a significant increase in mitochondrial electron transport chain (ETC) volume after fasting for four or five days. (This is a mechanism by which respiration is accomplished in mammals.) A connection to nonlocal intelligence has been proposed by some physicists using quantum tunneling which, by definition, is nonlocal (by which I mean not specific to a location).

Due to fasting, I was able to dispense with taking a medication I’d been prescribed to counter leg spasms I had at night that disturbed my sleep. When my prescription ran out and was delayed in being replenished in prison, I continued fasting. My physical symptoms went away and never returned. I have since that time felt and looked younger, stayed energized, and changed the way I live because of my fasting regimen. I share my experiences with intermittent and longer fasting and theories on quantum physics to try and help others.

I must acknowledge, however, that I am not a medical professional and that one should always consult with a physician before changing their diet or lifestyle drastically.

Deeper Levels of Communication

In April 2006, an article in Seed Magazine described discoveries from a group of researchers on how enzymes use quantum tunneling to speed up chemical reactions. After fasting for four or five days, a similar speed-up took place in my body, a sort of rejuvenation known as autophagy. It is a “spring cleaning” inside the cells in which old or worn-out proteins all over the body are broken down to be recycled and reused.

With autophagy eliminating junk inside my cells, I felt far more capable of "quantum powers." As a person, I became brighter and more responsive.

After starting my fasts, my memory, sleep quality, and creativity all improved dramatically, as well as my attention to detail and focus. It was worth the effort; I've never done anything more challenging than fasting. It is much more challenging than going to prison. But ironically, had I not turned my adversity to my advantage via fasting, I would not have found the discipline to make such a life-changing decision.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Greg Lindberg

Greg Lindberg is the founder of Global Growth, an entrepreneur and author. He's able to identify what's valuable in any situation and leaning on it for growth. His most recent book is titled 633 Days Inside: Lessons on Life and Leadership.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Greg Lindberg is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.