Journal logo

Edit Your Past Stories.

Because In The Early Days, We All Made Mistakes.

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Edit Your Past Stories.
Photo by Santa Barbara on Unsplash

When I first started writing, I wasn't perfect.

I'm still not, and nobody is. Even the best writers make mistakes.

Many years later, Vocal invented a super cool tool, 'Quick Edit'.

Read the article below for more information.

As stated, you do need to be a Vocal+ member to use this feature. Find out more below:

I think the feature is useful.

When I get a chance, I review my stories and I edit them. Of course, I can't edit them all in one go; but when I have spare time, I like to look through my articles from the past, and correct any mistakes I notice.

Warning! If you come across mistakes, be patient with me; I have been a creator on Vocal for a while, and I have a lot to go through!

I am sure many writers have reread their articles and thought

"What was I thinking?"

I often go back through my work and I cringe!

It isn't a big problem though, because being a Vocal + member enables me to re-edit those pieces and get them just where I want them to be. Sometimes, I have to go back several times because I don't notice all the mistakes in one go, but using Quick Edit is a great way for me to proofread and correct my mistakes in my own time.

I write many chapter stories here on Vocal. Some, like the two below are well...erm..complicated!

Emma has a complicated storyline, and it can be frustrating to write! It's a zombie story with a lot of twists and action. I love writing it, though sometimes I have to reread and go over the chapters a few times in order to change things, and rectify my mistakes, which I don't always notice until I hit publish!

This is my fun children's story!

Imagine secret pigs getting revenge on the adults who the children think to treat them wrong. These little pigs are there to help the children, though they are just as mischievous as the children themselves.

I really love writing this one, because it allows me the freedom of being as creative and as funny as I want. However, I get carried away with excitement, and I find I make a lot of mistakes as I write.

I love my quick edit!

As writers, we spend a lot of time trying to perfect our work. We often go back over it again and again, only to realize that we have still left a few mistakes in our work!

Yes, everybody can read your work but don't beat yourself up over minor mistakes. I have read some books that have had more mistakes in them than my own work. So if you are not a paid member, don't beat yourself up. People tend to overlook minor mistakes if the story interests them enough.

For myself, I am a bit of a perfectionist. I was the same at school, often not handing homework in until late because I would go over it a million times, just to try and perfect it.

And it never came out completely perfect anyway!

The quick edit is really useful. You can use it to:

  • Change aspects of your story
  • Correct grammar and spelling
  • Proofread your work and take out any mistakes you notice.

It is excellent practice to be able to check your stories, and good practice to refresh them once in a while.

However, don't beat yourself up over every mistake that you make. Writing is supposed to be fun, not just work.

Who said a perfect writer exists anyway?

workflowproduct reviewcareeradvice
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    This is great advice. I like to share an old piece occasionally, and I always give it a quick re-read with fresh eyes and spruce it up a bit first. I was going to share one today, but the tenses were all over the place, and the run-on sentences were DIRE. Some of the formatting got lost when I pasted it over, as well, and I didn't spot it at the time. The meat of the story will stay the same though 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.