Journal logo

Earn $312 a Month with Referred Members

You only need one to get the ball rolling.

By DannielPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

$2.75 sounds like a tiny amount of money.

But it added up to $312 for Jenn Leach. Here’s the proof:

Photo by Jenn Leach

I am slowly growing my number of referred members too.

In my first few months on this platform, I thought one story was enough to get a referred member. I would wait for publications to make my draft live before I wrote another article.

That method didn’t work.

One story only makes a small ripple in an ocean of content.

Here’s a method that works.

Make a hard choice

This month taught me the importance of picking a niche or two. After experimenting, I am narrowing it down to relationships and side hustles.

The most loved stories in each category this month are:

5 Offline Side Hustles To Make $10,000 Every Month

You can make passive income streams without the internet

medium.com

Good Guys Believe They Don’t Stand A Chance

5 strategies I see bad guys use to get the girl.

medium.com

It is a choice I’ve had to make to build an audience and to get referred members.

Humans love consistency and their feelings.

Imagine how much longer you spend at the cashier when she says your first pick isn’t available. Super long.

I’ve read as Tim Denning boasted about not picking a niche. But that’s not 100% true. Tim talks about self-development, finance, money, and side hustles. Yet, there are all rooted in the idea of being time-rich. It’s the reason he can place backlinks on his older stories — they all have a shared concept.

Ash Jurberg talks about sex, freelancing, and marketing. But people know him as the guy who does deep research to find lesser-known facts. When you read his stories, you know you will learn a detail you never did before.

Yana Bostongirl has feelings and relatability down pat.

How can you apply this:

It all comes back to what Nicolas Cole said — build a library.

Keep adding to your collection. Let readers remember you for a niche, awe-inspiring new concepts, or a feeling.

Allow that association or feeling to grow every time you get published. And someone might very well subscribe to your stories and become your referred member.

Don’t check all the boxes.

In my case, referred members also subscribed to receive my stories via email.

I don’t know which exact article caused someone to become a paying member.

But you know the topics you wrote about most recently. Let’s say; you don’t write based on an overarching concept or feelings. You write based on a niche. If you stray from your topic, you can unpick the box to share it with your subscribers.

Screenshot by Author

I do this to avoid annoying subscribers and referred members with a story that won’t suit their interests. Or to avoid overcrowding their inbox if I publish several times in one day.

Why does this tip matter?

Members sign up to pay $5 per month, and they can choose to unsubscribe. I don’t want to give them a reason to stop being my referred member.

Prepare a copy and paste statement

Most authors have a go-to call to action statement. They use it at the bottom of their articles. There are some customizations here and there, but the most two common ones are:

#1

If you enjoy reading stories like these and want to support me as a writer, consider signing up to become a Medium member. It’s $5 a month, giving you unlimited access to stories on Medium. If you sign up using my link, I’ll earn a small commission.

#2

P.S.: If you like to experience Medium, consider supporting me and thousands of other writers by signing up for a membership. It only costs $5 per month, it supports us, writers, greatly, and you have the chance to make money with your writing as well. When I started, I made my first $100 in 2 months. By signing up with this link, you’ll support me directly with a portion of your fee, it won’t cost you more. If you do so, thank you plenty!

Quick Notes

Please remember to edit the embedded link to yours.

Where To Find Your Medium Membership Referral URL

Use the link to get 50% of new signups.

medium.com

2. I’d suggest keeping it in an easy-to-reach area for copy and pasting. My storage place of choice is Grammarly.

It worked! These tips worked well for me.

I have about 5 referred members this month. And you can too!

Let’s see the record we can set for next month.

Thanks for reading!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Danniel

Simple, money and bussiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.