Journal logo

Developing inner leadership abilities

This is a topic that often leaves even the most refined leadership experts baffled and perplexed

By Chutisa BowmanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Developing inner leadership abilities
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

Success is the sort of thing that most of us dream about from an early age. However, success has a variety of paradoxical definitions.

Success comes to those who are comfortable with or without the acknowledgment, validation, agreement, approval, and acceptance of others. The sustainability or longevity of the success we achieve will depend on how well we cultivate and nurture our inner leadership.

Those who experience unlimited success often have a grasp of and an awareness of the potency of their unshakable inner-leadership power. They are not controlled by an insecure need to be liked by everyone. People with this inner leadership have an imperturbable belief in their capacity to achieve the impossible.

Inner leadership reflects confidence in the ability to exert control over our own minds, behaviors, and social environment. It's made up of many things, including resilience, a flexible mindset, self-efficacy, adaptive capacity, and the ability to identify and seize new and different possibilities.

As I have been exploring the ways I can cultivate and expand inner-leadership power in my life, I have often wondered what kind of world it would be if we all chose to nurture our inner-leadership power.

Truly, anyone, at any time, can choose to expand their inner leadership. And yet, most people are not very interested. But choosing to cultivate this power is a lot easier than most of us think it is, because each of us has this innate capacity far beyond what is considered possible.

Before I became an investor and the financial director of our businesses, none of my interests or priorities would have predicted that I’d wind up on the generative inner leadership path. Yet as it turns out I do find the most power and creativity in practicing the art of inner leadership.

Practicing the art of inner leadership allows me to break away from my habitual thoughts and emotional matrix - to guide me to question my assumptions about what is going on around me. It allows me to respond quickly and consciously to relentless change. I think that explains why it is actually fun for me, not frightening, to maneuver around the challenges that confront me when I am making tough investment choices.

Chutisa Bowman

“How do I cultivate and expand the inner leadership power?” is a question I am asked often. Inner leadership is a topic that often leaves even the most refined leadership experts baffled and perplexed. Cultivating the inner leader is a process of transformation and self-mastery on a very personal level.

Fortunately, I discovered the power of inner leadership through my research and my work in the field of conscious living. I had been in love with the idea of living a conscious life when I was studying to become a transpersonal psychotherapist. While I was conducting research for my Master's Degree in Counseling, I studied the habits of outstanding and remarkable people and learned a valuable lesson about self-mastery and inner leadership.

I came to realize that to create a life I desire I must choose to be my own author and creator of my life. To discover my own innate powers and gifts, and then to find my own way to use them to create greater. My choice was to use this principle and discover what was truly possible to create.

Acknowledging that I'm the creator of my own life was the key that unlocked the door and allowed me to express and actualize different possibilities. When I am truly the creator source of my life, I get to choose anything and everything.

The art of inner leadership is simple, natural, and powerful. Understanding the concept of inner leadership is useful only if we truly embody and be it. More often, however, we intellectualize and philosophize about inner leadership and self-mastery, rarely embodying it or making it an integral part of our being and our daily life.

Committing to cultivating and expanding inner leadership is so powerful that, when we do it, we are creating the life and the futures that are sustainable for us and the world. We open the doors to everything we are capable of being and doing. We perceive choices and possibilities we never knew existed.

By Tim Foster on Unsplash

Here are three keys to expanding your inner leadership

  1. Make a total commitment to you - making a total commitment to you is about making a deliberate choice to create a life that works for you whether anybody else likes it or not. When you commit to your life, you are willing to be, do, have, create, and generate anything in order to create greater for you, the world, and everyone concerned.
  2. Make a demand of yourself to be everything you can possibly be - What would it be like if you could be and do everything you can possibly be and do? With no point of view that it was either right or wrong or good or bad. It was just a choice you got to make. How much demand are you unwilling to place on you to take action with awareness?
  3. Never operate from conclusion, projection, expectation, and judgment - Be willing to let go of conclusion, projection, expectation, and judgment of any kind. Any time you judge something or come to a conclusion about anything, nothing that doesn’t match your judgment, or your conclusion can come into your awareness.

Cultivating our inner leadership power is more than a matter of learning tools and practices. It’s also a matter of believing that it is truly possible. Why is that? Because our beliefs and points of view determine our choices, and our choices determine our actions.

THANK YOU so much for reading 🙏 and if you like my work be sure to leave me a heart below to let me know! 🙏 if you know someone who may enjoy this article...Please share ❤️

how to
Like

About the Creator

Chutisa Bowman

Chutisa Bowman is a Pragmatic Futurist, author, creative director, producer and poet. She is best-known for her work in strategic awareness, benevolent capitalism, prosperity consciousness, and conscious leadership.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.