Journal logo

Deep Dive Into One or the Other

What’s your preference

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 4 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Subhi Najar's (Medium writer) new Deep Dive is out and here's my contribution to his questions.

1. Day or night, and why?

I’ve always been a night owl and I guess that stems from being a single mother for all of my boys lives.

Night was the only time I could achieve quality ‘me’ time so I abhorred the need to waste any minute of those hours sleeping.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

2. Summer or winter, and why?

Definitely summer. I don’t suffer winter and the cold well at all. In fact I’m allergic to the cold and suffer horribly. Winter is synonymous to hibernating while I wait the cold weather out.

Summer, on the other hand, is a glorious time of the year and nature calls to me. Whether that’s in the form of the beach, a long, cool rainforest trek or a fishing adventure. Summer is the season whereby I come alive.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

3. Tea or coffee? and why?

I love both tea and coffee but my preference is certainly coffee.

Funnily enough, I detested coffee when I was young, until I turned eighteen that was.

When I was eighteen, I was unfortunate enough to be involved in a bank robbery and I was the closest person to the gun wielding robber. If there’d been a hostage situation, I would have been it. Thankfully that wasn’t the case.

However, once the incident was over and the robber escaped, the bank manager rushed to get me a cup of coffee, to help me calm down as I was in shock. At the time, I didn’t have the heart to tell him I didn’t drink or like coffee and to placate him I did drink the entire cup.

Much to my surprise I enjoyed that cup of coffee that day and I’ve been a coffee drinker ever since.

If you’re interested in reading the full story, you can find it here :

4. Guitar, piano, or maybe another instrument, and why?

I’m not at all musical, in fact, I’m tone deaf, so playing an instrument is not in the cards for me. However, I am a music lover and enjoy listening to a wide range of music genres.

I am partial to listening to and watching an epic guitar riff and I’m often left in awe of the guitar gods that seem to play this instrument effortlessly.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

5. Still or sparkling water, and why?

I would have to choose still water for this one. I find sparkling water quite bitter, alongside the same lines as soda water or tonic water is bitter.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

6. A time off in the mountains or near the seaside, and why?

Each of these choices have their place and in this instance I’m going to have to choose both.

I love anything to do with nature but when I’m worried or stressed, I always head to the water. When I want a beautiful hike through our glorious scenery, I head to the mountains for the day.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

7. The city or the countryside, and why?

I’m a 110% country girl at heart and feel the most comfortable in the country. Country people are friendlier and life in the country is a simpler, slower paced life. Country people will always lend a helping hand and you are, by far, safer in the country.

Sadly, the same cannot be said for the city. People in the city are estranged and compartmentalised. They don’t want to know you, don’t want to move outside their little box of a life and they wouldn’t think to lend a helping hand to a stranger. City people just don’t want to get involved in something that’s not going to advance or enrich their life in some way. There’s also far more danger in a city.

Don’t come for me city people as this choice is based on my own personal experience.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

8. Venus or Mars? and why?

This is the only question in which I won’t choose one or the other, for no other reason than I don’t have a preference in either option.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

9. Reading or writing and why?

I love both reading and writing and although I do spend a number of hours wiling away from the real world by escaping into the pages of a good book, I’m still going to choose writing.

Reading to me is a luxury that I enjoy immensely but writing is an absolute need.

I ‘need’ to write to survive. If you could spend an hour in my head, you’d understand why I make that comment. I write to process my thoughts, to deal with my emotions, to let shit go and to clear out my over cluttered mind.

To not write would be a form of suicide to me.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

10. Love or being loved, and why?

Both of these choices are beautiful and there’s no better feeling in the world than love. While I, like everyone, has a need to be loved, I find loving someone is far more satisfying and fulfilling.

I pride myself on bending over backwards for those I love and doing all possible to ensure they are safe, happy and have all that they need.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

What a great set of questions Subhi has included in this deep dive. Thank you Subhi.

Will you join us in this deep dive and allow those that read your responses, to get to know you a little better by answering these questions?

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

listinterview

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Love your responses to the choices!!! For seasons, I would select Spring and Fall. Summer is way too hot and Winter has on occasion ice storms.

  • I'm not a night owl but I prefer night because that means I'm closer to my sleeping time 🤣🤣🤣 I don't have summer or winter but if I have to choose, I'd choose summer too because I cannotttttt handle the cold, lol! Oh yes, I remember that bank robbery story where your coffee drinking profession started. Sorry about the profession, I was too lazy to think of a proper term hahahaha! I'm a city girl who wants to live in a cabin in the woods but with wifi and all other technology. I just wanna be away from humans hahaha Lol, the Venus or Mars one kinda lacks context. I just wanna float in space! Weeee~ Number 10 hit me hard. I'm afraid to choose either one. The consequences can sometimes be so painful 😅 Sorry for my long comment my friend! I enjoyed reading this!

  • Yikes! A bank robbery where you were the closest to the gunman? I never learned to like coffee, but I'm with you. Under the circumstances, I'd probably have learned real quick.

  • This is Excellent and for no reason at all- I'm choosing Venus 😉💯❤️📝

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.