Journal logo

Deep Dive Into ‘What If’

My choices

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 4 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Subhi Najar (Medium writer) new Deep Dive is out and here’s my contribution to his questions.

Subhi’s post can be found here :

So without further ado, let’s go deep diving.

If you had three superpowers, what would they be?

Wow, what would I choose if I had a choice?

My first would have to be ‘Weather Modification’.

I would use this superpower to help Mother Nature and to tame her increasing tantrums. She hits us with these tantrums, in the forms of hurricanes; cyclones; earthquakes; tsunamis; tornadoes etc, in an attempt to both let off steam and to get us to change our ways, but we are not listening.

Therefore, I’d use this superpower to fix some of the future damage that our extreme weather is causing.

My second choice would be ‘Time Travel’.

Too many unnecessary tragedies occur in our lives. Tragedies caused by innocent mistakes, poor choices, accidents and just being in the wrong place at the wrong time. I’d use this superpower to rewind time and fix some of these unnecessary tragedies, especially when it involved people that didn’t deserve their ‘bad luck’.

My final choice would be ‘Immortality’.

This superpower I would use, not for me but for those I love, because I’m tired of losing loved ones. Losing someone you love is not something you ever get over and is the worst pain imaginable.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If you could meet three celebrities of all time, who would you choose?

Not a difficult question at all (tongue in cheek). Boy, who would I choose?

First choice would be Michael Jackson.

The King of Pop’s music is legendary and awe inspiring. I’ve always been fascinated with the mind that has written and choreographed these songs. I think MJ would be extremely interesting to shoot the breeze with. A pure genius in his own right.

My second choice would be Patrick Swayze.

Patrick Swayze has always been my ultimate crush but it’s not all about his gorgeous looks. Patrick is extremely talented in so many ways, from acting to singing and of course his fabulous dancing.

My third and final choice would be Billy Connolly.

Having an every day conversation with Billy Connolly would be the ultimate barrel of laughs. That man is the best comedian ever in my eyes.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If your life were a novel, what would be its title?

The title of my life, if it was a novel, would be “Her Harrowing Soul Contract”

I asked and I received but if I had to do it all over again I’d be a little more circumspect on my original decisions.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If your heart were chocolate, what kind of chocolate would it be?

Definitely white chocolate : sweet, pure and an utter delight.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If life were a dream, what would you do?

Immediately retire from my day job, pack up and move to the most glorious beach in the tropics and write to my hearts content.

Oh yeah, my ultimate dream.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If you had Aladdin`s lamp, what would be your three wishes?

My first wish would be world peace.

Life’s tough enough without the unending every day struggles we are all trying to cope with. If we all had a little more peace in our lives, the world would be a more magical and peaceful place.

Second choice would be ongoing financial stability.

I don’t have a need to be rich but I would welcome enough financial stability to be able to do the things I’d love to do, rather than having to work a 9 to 5 job for the last of my working years. I’ve done my time and would love to have the capacity to now do the hobbies I love but aren’t all that financially viable for the bulk of us.

Lastly, I’d choose the end of chronic illness.

Life is precious and I would ask that we rid the world of the terrible chronic diseases experienced in our world. Illnesses such as cancer, diabetes, depression etc.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If calories did not exist in life, would you still eat healthily?

Unfortunately no. I have a terrible sweet tooth and I’m also a lover of all things pastry / gooey gluten related. Both the bane of my existence!

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If you were offered three free airplane tickets to three different destinations, which would you choose?

First choice, Broome Western Australia.

Of all the places I’ve ever lived, Broome would be my absolute favourite. It’s a little touch of paradise. Fabulous weather, great fishing and not too many people.

My second choice would be Hawaii.

I’ve no idea why but Hawaii has always been the one place in the world I’ve always wanted to visit. It’s still a big possibility on my bucket list.

Final choice would be the Maldives.

I’ve seen the pictures and it looks absolutely glorious. I’d happily visit the Maldives if given a chance.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If you had to choose between a cup of happiness or a river of hope, which would you prefer?

I’d definitely choose a cup of happiness. To discover what true happiness is would be the ultimate gift, even if to experience it for a short time was all that was on offer.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

If you could make one decision to change the world, what would it be?

If I had the choice and the power to back it, I would make the decision to ban all warfare. There’s no need to physically fight a war where only the little people suffer. Governments should be able to work out their differences in a more mature way.

Now people don’t come for me as this is my opinion and my opinion only. For me war should never exist as an option!

Image courtesy of Pixabay

And there folks are my answers to Subhi’s latest Deep Dive.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

interview
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    For your superpower of Immortality, you gotta make yourself immortal too. Else you will die and your loved ones would live on forever without you and they'll be devastated 🥺 Out of the 3 celebraties you'd meet, I only know Michael Jackson 😅 Awww, I totally agree that your heart is white chocolate! I love your 3 wishes from the Genie. I would also wish for something along those lines. If calories did not exist in life, would you still eat healthily? I laughed at this question. I don't even eat healthily when calories exist 🤣 Same here my friend. For me, war shouldn't even exist as an option. I enjoyed reading about you! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Awesome Article ❤️💖I enjoyed reading it...

  • Interesting, fun answers.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.