Journal logo

Celebrating the Admins at Vocal + Assist

A Fun-Loving Team

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 10 months ago β€’ Updated 10 months ago β€’ 5 min read
The Vocal + Assist Team

Hello Friends, Associates, and Fellow Creators,

I am proud to be part of the Vocal Media platform. I love writing and creator content that people read and enjpoy. I started the Facebook group Vocal + Assist on March 8, 2022 as a way to escape the grief and pain I was (and still am) experiencing. Now a year and a half later (almost to the day) my reason for the group is to share the joy I receive from being a Vocal Media Creator.

The following is a feature of the Admins at the Facebook group Vocal + Assist. Each one has written a very short bio on themselves plus a short description of one of the other admins on the team. Each one has included links to their most popular story, their favorite, and the one they feel needs more attention.

The admins appear in this story in chronological order of becoming an admin with the newest first and the last having seniority.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

River Joy

Intro: I am a multimedia artist and writer, I studied fine art and film in school before re-discovering a passion for writing, especially poetry, during a time of burnout in between jobs. I was once described as a bit of asshole with Mr. Rodgers vibes, which is the best read anyone has ever gotten on me.

River chats about Jim Delaney-Howe: Jim is a versatile author who writes prose, poetry, and slice of life pieces. He writes passionately and earnestly about his family, life, and recently grief. He does not shy away from the hard stuff, in fact in his "Good Grief" series he breaks down impossibly huge subjects such as grief into challenging yet easy to digest pieces of art. He shares his life and his family in a beautiful and generous way, his work about the LGBT community is both strong and subtle allowing readers into a world in which they might not fully understand. His piece "Pancakes at Midnight" is a beautiful snap shot of a father loving and accepting his kid unconditionally, and his piece "The Art of Love" shows that he lives that way throughout his life. Jim is an important, hard working, part of the vocal family!

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My most popular:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

Deserves more attention:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My personal favorite:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

L.C. Schafer

Intro: I'm a lifelong logophile living in the West Midlands, UK with my family, my dog and my cat.

L.C. chats about Oneg: Oneg is a great writer, and can weave a good story or poem with a lot of skill and insight. Oneg is also a huge support to other writers, both on Vocal itself and in several Vocal groups on social media. Oneg & James' recent writing challenges have been great fun. Lots of people joined in, and the prompts have sparked a lot of creativity and great stories. I especially liked the Gossip Cab challenge.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My most popular piece is "The Worst Heist" - it has the most reads and the most likes of any of my stories. It's a bit of microfiction, which I wrote for the Micro fiction magic challenge. There was some bad feeling rumbling around at the time about plagiarism and i used that for inspiration.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

The one that deserves more attention: Blood Honey Salt Part 3 (A Mother Speaks)

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My Personal Favorite: a dystopian fiction, Glass Dolls:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

Darnell Lee

Intro: My name is Darnell. Since learned when I was very young that I had an affinity for writing that has evolved from hobby into a career choice.

Darnell Chats about River Joy: River is an excellent writer with strong beliefs. River doesn’t shy from expressing how she feels about any specific topic, especially when it’s in protection of the rights and beliefs of others. A poised poet and writer, River’s publishings range from well constructed think pieces to introspective poems. If ever you’re wanting to expand or gain greater insights into lesser or unknown topics, River had you covered.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My Most Popular:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

Deserves More Attention:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My Personal Favorite:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

JIM DEALNEY-HOWE

Intro: My name is Jim. I am a bipolar poet, father, grandfather and husband. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family.

Jim chats about Rick Henry Christopher: Many of you may already know who Rick Henry Christopher is from the Facebook Vocal groups, including the group he founded, Vocal + Assist. He is a prolific writer, especially in the β€œBeats” community. His pieces on musical artists and entertainers are full of information. He also writes poetry, which really draws you in and makes you feel. Aside from being a Vocal creator, he has a Youtube channel titled β€œTen Questions with Rick Henry Christopher”. Aside from that, he has also written four children’s books. Aside from all his communications work, Rick also takes care of his mother full time. When he has down time or quiet time, he remains active on Vocal and in his group, spreading encouragement and support.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My Most Popular:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

Needs more attention:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My personal favorite:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

ONEG KUSHNIR

Intro: I a queer poet, storyteller, and teacher who resides in Arctic Canada, also known as Turtle Island. I love writing micro fictions with no real ending, mental health poems for the aching soul, and horror stories that scare them.

Oneg chats about Darnell Lee: Darnell might seem like a behind-the-scenes kind of guy, but he’s quite the articulate writer and wordsmith. His stories show a different perspective, and he doesn’t shy away from diving deep into vulnerability.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My most popular:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

Deserves more attention:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My personal favorite:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

RICK HENRY CHRISTOPHER

Intro: Hello my name is Rick Henry Christopher. I am the kind of person that bonds with people and becomes a best friend easily. I like comfort and care in my relationships.

Rick henry Christopher chats about L.C. Schafer: L.C. is somewhat mysterious yet at the same point a book with the cover partially open. L.C. is quite the accomplished Vocal creator and has won First Place in the recent Tales Retold Challenge as well as a Runner-Up in both the Unexpected Uncovering challenge and the Passing Ships challenge. L.C. has a dark sense of humor and serious side that seem to exist in the same space. L.C. is active in all the Facebook Vocal groups and is supportive of fellow creators.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My Most Popular: This one is currently at 6,000 reads. It keeps trending in the search engines.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

Deserves More Attention:

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

My Personal Favorite: This is a two part story. Both parts take about and hour and a half to read. But once you start you will not want to stop.

An interview done by Dharrsheena regarding the writing of "The Hail Mary Confession:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

Thank you Oneg, Jim, Darnell, L.C., and River for helping to keep Vocal + Assist a fun and exciting group!!!

With Love, RHC

social mediapop cultureinterviewhumanityfeature

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Spectacular article!!! Wonderful learning more about you all!!!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I enjoyed learning a little more about the team! Thanks to all of you for all you do!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    An awesome piece on an awesome team! Great job everyone!

  • The Hail Mary Confession is my personal favourite too! It was so fun reading about you guys! Such an awesome team!

  • Great article! And a huge congratulations on the 6000 reads! That’s amazing!!!! I’ve yet to get even close to that on all of my pieces collectively πŸŽ‰πŸ«ΆπŸ₯‡

  • D. D. Lee10 months ago

    Great job my fellow admin team members. Really nice pieces you all wrote on yourselves and each other.

  • Rene Peters10 months ago

    Love it! Very well earned! You guys all do such an amazing job!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This is so awesome πŸ₯°.

  • Yes, thank you for all that you do in support of everyone else here. Thanks for the introductions. Now, it looks like I have some reading to do.

  • J. Delaney-Howe10 months ago

    This is a great piece! Thank you so much for highlighting our team.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Great intro to the team!!

  • Test10 months ago

    So honored to be part of this team. Everyone is such an exceptional writer and supporter! Thank you again for bringing me on. :) Rick this was such a nice write up, and so kind of you to do. Excited to keep getting to know you all!

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Thank you all for what you do and how you contribute individually and collectively. ❀️

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    What a thoughtful introduction to a talented team. I especially like the way each person gives their insight into someone else. Excellent formatting!

  • Suze Kay10 months ago

    So much here to dive into! Thanks for sharing this collaboration, Rick. I hope I'll have some time this weekend to read everything listed - some I have already, but much I haven't. I'm especially intrigued by your two-part series. It seems right up my alley...

Rick Henry Christopher Written by Rick Henry Christopher

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.