Journal logo

Catch These Four Stories to Read with Your Coffee, Tea, or Wine

#2 in a Series: Interesting and thought-provoking

By Cathy CoombsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Catch These Four Stories to Read with Your Coffee, Tea, or Wine
Photo by Johnny McClung on Unsplash

I'm sharing 6 Things To Do for Free in San Francisco, CA published in Wander by Alice Toneatto because there's interesting history to see in San Francisco. The Golden Gate Bridge has to be one of the most popular bridges for tourists to photograph. If you travel to San Francisco on a budget, check out Alice's recommendations. San Francisco is embedded in my memory bank because my parents spent time there after meeting in California.

This article is important to someone who is planning a vacation to San Francisco or just traveling there on business. I know for families who travel on a budget, just having this kind of information helps in exploring a new city not visited before.

Published in Journal by Mrz. PG is How to Use Transition Periods to Your Benefit. This is a story about personal lessons from life experiences and resilience. It also represents increasing awareness and self-development. As Mrs. PG writes, "Nothing is worth having if you aren't willing to put your own skin in the game." Read on to see how she learned to grow from her experiences.

Mrz. PG writes about moving and changing jobs. She also talks about how she rose above her past experiences and how you sometimes have to force yourself out of "uncomfortable" to grow. I also think making changes to your life helps you to grow as a person as well as provides the lesson of learning to adapt to other changes in your life.

Parvez Ali wrote an interesting piece in Travel called Hawai`i the Aloha State. I found this interesting because my mother was from Kauai and I lived there for nearly two years as a child when my dad was in the Air Force. Parvez writes about the private island, Ni'ihau, which was always interesting to me because I don't know anyone who's ever been there.

Kaua'i is my favorite island so I was interested in what Parvez had to write about this popular island. Of note, the western side of Kauai is less touristy and offers the island experience without a lot of crowds. I'm biased though since I lived there and have family there.

Check out this article below about our 50th state to learn more about the other islands as well as climate, history, and culture.

Sido Maria published The Top 10 Reasons Why Kindness Matters In Our World in Education. I selected this community because my daughter is a teacher and I believe the free sharing of kindness really does make a difference if you want to promote change.

I chose the story below also because I’m the daughter of a man who was in the U.S. Air Force for 20 years. As such, being kind was part of civility. Respect. It wasn’t something taught. It was an example that was followed.

I have a sign at home that reads, “Kindness is free, sprinkle that stuff everywhere.”

We all have problems. We all have despair or sadness at one time or another, and with the war in Ukraine, we have another reminder of where a form of unkindness exists in the world.

We experience disappointments. We have opinions that aren’t always agreed with. We’re all different and yet, we’re unique. So, be kind.

The crowded room is much better off with kindness.

I hope you enjoy reading the above as much as I did.

© Cathy Coombs

About the Author

Earning a B.A. in English Journalism & Creative Writing affirmed my love for literature, language, and writing, and I sought early retirement to write full-time. Connect via Twitter or LinkedIn or visit my website to see my published eBooks.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Coombs

Earning a B.A. in English Journalism & Creative Writing confirmed my love of literature. I believe every living experience is tied to language, and words influence us all.

Website. Write, self-publish, and self-market. Go.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.