Journal logo

Captain's Log

Star-Date: 11/8/23

By Z-ManPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like

I'll make this quick. As in. 600 words or more. Lol.

Great news! I've got a surprise to pick up today! After it got shipped to the wrong address. About to go and grab it once this *laughs probably somewhat derisively but really who knows least of all me* article is written.

Woo is me!

So I applied for a part-time gym position, and checked in. I will probably be getting a call a little later about that.

It wouldn't be worth it full-time, probably, but as an income for now, it's a start.

Tried again with a local radio station email about possible positions. Would very much enjoy being a radio personality, if at least eventually.

Ideally would like a remote position of significance, but I have yet to crack that nut.

An lady acquaintance friend of mine said they saw me as being a substitute teacher. Another (okay, my Mom) suggested I could work at a daycare.

Also, my Dad suggested I just work.

(I'm kidding. I haven't made mention of my [current] situation to him yet.)

(And no, I don't live with them anymore.)

(Not since September.)

ANYWAY...

(!Reference to "Father Ted" there!)

You know what...

I'm gonna pick up my gift, then I'll get back to ya...

It is currently after noon...

<LATER>

It is currently STILL after noon...

So...

I am currently eating a bowl of mixed vegetables with chicken, sweet and spicy barbeque sauce, and sweet and savory peanuts. Fantastic dish! Highly recommended.

Checked in about work at a CD store, which I applied to in the past. I don't really dig the vibes from the people that work there, though, so it was more like a give-it-a-shot kind of dealio.

Part of my struggle is having options to return to (potentially), but not wanting to go into a job where I would be held to a minimum tenure. At the very least within my own sense of reasoning. It is certainly one of the things that has consistently tripped me up over the years.

Examples of things that stand in my way:

1. Feeling like I would be doing my employer a disservice by starting and then leaving soon (or so) after.

The antithesis, of course, is that the company was "fine" before I arrived, and would be "fine" following my departure...regardless of the length of my tenure.

2. Of course, not wanting to leave my "friends" behind.

Antithesis: aside from losing consistent time around them, if they really like me, they will [call].

3. Not wanting to get stuck somewhere that

11/9/2023

makes me feel like I am only earning money because I need to to survive.

So it's 24 hours later, and...

I got screwed out of the red yesterday because a bill unexpectedly came out. "Isn't that special?"

And on top of that, my plastic frame glasses were accidentally broken yesterday, between the lens and arm, where tape is the only damn thing you can use to repair it.

AND my phone input apparently is loose, because I have since had to prop the plug at an angle to get it charging.

BUT...

BUT...

I did the smart thing and bought my ticket to see "The Marvels" for matinee pricing tomorrow morning!!!

Super excited for the Season 2 Finale of "Loki" tonight as well!!!

Just saw the newest episode of the "Frasier" reprisal this morning!!!

At least my very SOUL is not yet at the mercy of these absurd circumstances.

Well, hey! I would love to be involved with making any of those movies and shows and more! I would gladly do my part in contributing that way!!!

But who else is listening to the little guy?

Who EVER listens to the little guy?

Before he achieves.

(Obviously, you are listening and supporting me here; as I imagine I you. My point is: where does our chance lie? The chance for those who DON'T like Sports on every damn bar TV? Who DON'T see their worth in getting palette stuffers and doo-dads to suffice the daily whim.)

(Obviously, too, I am not saying you are like this. But to the--I suppose underdog--where the HELL is the JUSTICE?)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.