Journal logo

Black own family business

Keeping it real with the employees.

By Horace AlbertPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Facebook

Here is a business I know a little bit about. I work there for about a year. I have work or several companies owned by people of color but this company was the best. Mostly because I never had to worry about my paycheck. For the time I put in I got paid for it. The company has different trucks to work with as well like, roll-offs, flatbeds, step decks, and end dumps. From the start, the owner knew he loves to drive trucks but I'm not sure he knew all the different styles of trucks he would be working with. The company is very stable. Lake City Trucking of Lake Charles, LA, has been in business since 1988. The owner is James G. Gobert. He keeps an open-door policy for all employees. Guess what I like is the company is how versatile the company is. The company also participates in the Marti Graus festival each year that they can be in it. Lake Charles is a great city to live in but it's the weather that did not agree with me. It was the rain that kept us from working most of the time. Mr. Gobert was a great broker, he knew how to get more work for us to do. The company is very employee-centered. How employee-centered you may ask? In 2019 the year of a lot of rain, was one of the most seen in that year for the area. Mr. Gobert held a vote during one of our monthly safety meetings. Because of all the rain we were having some trouble keeping drivers. The company felt that many of the drivers they were losing were due to loss in work time on the jobs due to all the rains. He allowed the drivers to decide on a $300.00 a week pay salary if they did not get the hours to make $300.00. And as I remember, I was the only person to vote against this. It was a generous thing to do but, I felt it was not good for the company because, in reality, the company would be losing money during all the slow downtime. Never been with any company that allows such a practice as that to take place. I knew then I was with a good company where the owner thought about the people who worked for him. That kept a lot of drivers with the company and help us through some tough times. I guess for me, I had simply had enough when I lost my car after the last big storm that hit Galveston, TX. I was staying on a job site about 50 miles away from the touchdown of the storm. We got about 23 inches in 24 hours and flooded out. It was a day I never will forget. The company and all the drivers were supportive of me and what had happened. Because I lived up in Leesville and did not have good transportation to work from where I lived I decided to go back on the road driving a truck until my health forced me to retire after 23 years of service. I think so well of this company I'm willing to give them a plug and tell anyone who is looking to drive a truck and live in Lake Charles, LA. area, give Lake City Trucking a look. They are listed with the BBB and certified to move hazardous waste. I want to thank everyone for taking the time to read my story and ask if you like my work and don't mind supporting me in my writing please, share out my stories keep up with my trends that are right here on Vocal Media.

business
1

About the Creator

Horace Albert

51 year old truck driver of 22 years now retired. Trying to find something to do to earn some income. I'm single and just ready to do something different. Being a black independent conservative has not made it much easier either.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.