Journal logo

Audiobooks I’ve Bought This Month!

Happy Listening

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Audiobooks I’ve Bought This Month!
Photo by Distingué CiDDiQi on Unsplash

I’ve been getting into audiobooks lately. The last time I picked up my cassette player it didn’t work. It didn’t take long to figure out what the problem was: the batteries were flat. Now my cassette player was working again as I managed to get new batteries for them, I was able to listen to an audiobook I had called Floating City by Eric Van Lustbader. I liked the book, and was great to listen to it even though I‘ve read other books by him that I think are better. I only have two audiobooks on cassette which is Flating City and Jane Eyre.

My audible app have a lot more, but I do prefer having a physical product. Downloads aren’t around forever whilst physical products like CDs, tapes and cassettes last. The problem is that there are many audiobooks I could only find on cassette/CD and many new books are only availible digitally on audio. So with this haul, I had a mixture of both digital and physical releases.

I remember the charity shop used to have several audiobooks on tape. I’m not sure how easy they will be to find once lockdown is over, but with the help of EBay, I managed to snag a few.

When I was younger, I loved learning about France and it’s language and culture. Even though England and France are seen as mortal enemies they have elements in their language which they share, but they also have enough differences for them to be unique. I’ve been to France many times and can speak some simple sentences in French. I always like reading travel memoirs. I put a bid on this and I’m currently the only bidder so I have a feeling I will win. I look forward to listening to this.

I’ve not seen the film, book nor the opera this is meant to be based on, but Asian dramas always interest me especially historical dramas with the costumes. This was one of those impulse buys. From the moment I saw it, I knew I had to get it and felt that I would enjoy the story. I would like to get into opera stories like Madame Butterfly and I think this has the tragedy and beautiful characters that I expect.

This book is quite popular. I picked it up at a charity shop and read it many years ago but couldn’t remember much about it other than the fact that the woman moves into a french village to open up A chocolate shop. I want to read it again but I can’t find it amongst my many books. So when I saw it on EBay, I decided to get it. At the time when I first read it, I was quite young . I didn’t understand a lot of it but now I’m an adult, I think I might be able to appreciate the book more instead of wondering why there was so much fear over a chocolate shop. Now, I’m looking forward to listening to this book because I feel that the audio will give the book more justice.

I’m familiar with Agatha Christie’s characters through watching Poirot and some Miss Marple episodes on TV. My nan and I used to watch them together when she was still alive. Despite this, I haven’t read a lot of Agatha Christie’s books. I nabbed this one from EBay and I expect it to arrive anytime soon after the bank holiday. What I like about Miss Marple is that she proves that you don’t have to be married or have children to become an accomplished or interesting character.

I bought this novel at a bookshop in Norway during my stay on a cruise. I read a lot of books from the library on the days at sea, but none of them stayed with me the way that The Hanmaid’s tale did. Its sequel, The Testament was one of the firt audiobooks I purchased on Audible and I felt my audiobook library was incomplete without this one.

Stephen King is one of my favourite authors and I plan to get a lot more on my kindle and audiobook as most of Stephen King copies are on paperback. I first read It many years ago, but I don’t think I ever properly finished it because my copy was over 1000 pages. It’s still a great book, even though I think it installed a fear of clowns into everybody.

I loved Battle Royale and when somebody recommended this series, I gave it a go. Whilst I’m still angry about what happened to Prim, I think it’s a satisfying YA series with lots of action and world building. I loved the chemistry between Katniss and Peeta and how she brings President Snow down. I found the conclusion to the series satisfying. I’ve seen the films, read the books and want to read them again. Because I already had them on Kindle, so when I got them on Audible it had whispersync installed. It’s

One of my favourite TV show is The Tudors. The Tudor dynasty has always been an interesting one for me, especially Henry VIII, his children and his six unfortunate wives. I like how Wolf Hall focuses on Thomas Cromwell and how we see things through his eyes. It‘s nice being able to see things from the dynasty outside of the royal household. The TV show is wonderful and the book is fabulous. I’m enjoying this one so far and in the first few chapters I was listening to the audiobook and reading the book at the same time. It’s so easy to get engrossed in this. I can see why it’s one of the more critically acclaimed novels.

Even though it’s only availible in French, I always keep an eye out for anything related to Battle Royale. I wish this was availible on an e-book format, it dosen’t matter weather it’s on Kindle or Apple Books. I’ve only ever known this book to be availible on paperback. I’m not sure if it’s got an official e-book release in Japan. I’ll admit, my french is dusty, but I might be able to pick a lot of bits off. This novel is still beautiful regardless of what language it‘s in.

list
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.