Journal logo

Artist

Sanity

By Artist For SanityPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

"Somewhere over the rainbow is a land where the dreams you dare to dream do come true. "- Wizard of Oz

Born an artist, from as far back as I can remember I have been creative. Often my school assignments would be covered in pictures with a teacher never needing to find my name because the work stuck out like a sore thumb. In most classes this was almost like a deal we would make with each other, me and the teacher that is. Focusing on anything that was not project orientated was like reeling in a fish with a line that wasn't strong enough, a difficult task for even the most experienced teacher. So being able to draw at the same time as listening was very helpful. This was a deal mostly made in math classes because I could find the art in almost any other. Yes graphs and geometry can be made beautiful, truly anything can be but in science, social studies, English, AT, Cultural arts, etcetera, it was much easier to find.

There are many things you come to understand as you get older, I think one secret is that you do not have to do only one thing. Surely if that is your preference then of course spend your life with the one thing you love. For me, that is just not the case though.

Many years I have written, ever since I was a tiny lady giving my guy friends poems to give to their love interest or entering story contest at school. I can still remember one of the first words I ever wrote, it was the first day of kindergarten. The bathroom stalls had many things written on them. I came home and wrote out @$$ on an etch a sketch, to ask what it meant. Now as an adult with many books written and many still in the works, these are funny things to think about.

Singing I started before I could even crawl, a story told from when I was a baby is that I would self sooth. Starting with cooing, then the coos slowly turning into words over the years. Also spending many years in choir and competitions in my grade school years.

Next came learning an instrument, there was a piano at my Great grandmas house that was never tuned but I practiced on and some how made music with. My first guitar was received when I was around age 8 and learned how to play it by ear. Mostly knowing how to play the music I had heard on the radio. Reading music seemed like a must though, so I joined the school band. The Simpsons was a show many laughs where found growing up and Lisa was my favorite. So of course I wanted to learn to play Sax, at the school I attended they had "beginner instruments" Which I was told was a cornett at first. Truly it was the clarinet that was needed, so I ended up learning both. Spending much more time on the clarinet.

When it came to movies I wanted to see everything, from black and white to horror, action, romantic, comedy, even documentaries. Every piece of the puzzle that made their wonderous entertainment was of interest. The love originally being formed by watching plays and Operas on PBS growing up.

Dance was more of an accident, many might find that to be odd if they have ever seen me strut my stuff but it was like I tripped into dance. I can remember being a tiny tot dreaming of being a ballerina, but I never received any formal training. Sure many plays I watched involved ballerinas but most of my dancing skills were learned from friends in elementary school, my next door neighbor who was a cheerleader and an aunt. It is something that though it is a true work out, I have always found to be stress relieving. So over the years to say I have practiced would be a vast understatement.

Surely you have heard of a triple threat, well some how in the arts I have become more than a quadrable threat: singer, writer, dancer, actor, painter. (Only used as reference, no threat intended) You might be asking where is the story about your acting? Well for that I would be writing a completely different article, but lets just say... life can fuel talent, it can be its own class.

For over 30 years now I have steadily kept at art. Not just because it was something to do but because it has kept me sane, in times when others might have found not even a drop of sanity. Creating art is and always will be my life blood. Finishing a piece is always a great joy and accomplishment, weather it takes an hour, a day or ten years. With it I always have the hopes it might inspire another, even if its "just" to be themselves or have a good day. Taking the time to view art can be just as good for ones brain as stopping to smell and listen to the rain. When at peace I find beauty everywhere to be inspired by, when stressed I always find the inspiration to find the beauty. I see art in buildings, trees, skies, video games, furniture. Everywhere I look art is found and intrigues me.

-Artist For Sanity

"Never stop chasing your dreams, on a good day, you just might catch them."- Your Story

art
1

About the Creator

Artist For Sanity

"Writing is a passion I do not think one can ever forget and I never have. Much like the groves I love, I love the rows of books in a library, each growing minds like something that can happen only with time." -AFS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.