Journal logo

A Peek of A Writer’s Life

Because we live a multifaceted life.

By Min LPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

In this world filled with billions of people, we are everywhere. We are writers of all kind and in all ways yet we are unique and individual. We have many identities and carry much responsibilities.

In the day time, we may be someone else.

When night falls, we turn on our little table lamp and become a writer again. We may have a full time career or we may be a full time writer.

The possibilities are endless.

But here, I give you a peek in my writing journey. I did not instantly knew I wanted to be a writer. Maybe somewhat vaguely in my wonderland when I was young. Perhaps it was hidden deep down somewhere and was waiting for the right time.

But there is one thing that I am certain - I love reading and I love writing.

"Once upon a time" is the most beautiful thing to me. In fact, Literature has always been a greatest love of mine. But it is also my greatest regret.

Here, I bring you on a trip down the memory's lane to when I was fourteen.

It was time to select our core modules. Every cell from within me pleads for me to select Literature as my core. However, being a worrywart, I was afraid that society would reckon my Literature as a minority and I would have "no future" in life. Thus, with some persuasion from my then friends, I took up A-Math with the conviction that I would go far in life.

Yet nothing could be further away from the truth.

Mathematics has always been my weakest subject and how much I suffered for my wrong choice. Language has always been effortless to me but yet, I chose not to listen to my inner voice.

Perhaps, this is one of my many life's lessons that I have to go through - trust my inner voice. I genuinely thought that this is life for me and that there is no turning back.

Fast forward to today.

It was this constant dreaming that brought me to this place. It was in this place that I started writing. All of a sudden, my soul is stirred back to life again. For so long, it has been in slumber.

I know, it is all in the plan of God all along.

Now I am ready to share my voice that I have hidden for so long.

Yet it is sometimes a dilemma. There are days where there are so much I wanted to write so badly but there are also days where I sat and stared at the laptop for so long and nothing comes out.

Inspiration almost usually hits when I am busy attending to other matters in life and when I finally get time to sit down, inspiration has left me so far behind I could hardly catch up.

It is like a game of hide and seek.

Currently, I am only at the beginning of my writing journey and I dream for the day where I become a full time writer. I am praying hard for that day to come soon but until then, I am working full time during the day and by night, I am a writer.

Most often, I doze off while I write but it seems like the Zs monster is coming for me now. So if you love my stories from previous or even this one, please show me some love.

Your girl here needs all the encouragement that she could get ❤

humanity
5

About the Creator

Min L

A dreamer who loves reading and writing and believes in love and pixie dust. Find little nuggets of hope in my stories. And the occasional fictions.

Medium: medium.com/@weardressdrinktea

IG: @weardressdrinktea

Twitter: @weardressdrinkt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.