Journal logo

A Bookshop with a Mission

Black Women and Literature

By Nicole KPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Photo by Claire Sasko from the article, "The Coolest Addition to Philly’s Indie Bookshop Scene Is Opening in Fishtown"

I sat mindlessly scrolling through posts on Facebook when I came across one that featured a photo that spoke straight to my soul; a pile of books wrapped neatly with rough string and flowers intertwined. I quickly clicked on the name of the page and began scrolling through posts. When I think of bookstores, I think of old and dusty spaces run by older individuals who sit behind the counter and wait. This was not that. What I saw was a bright lit space with vibrant colors and aesthetically pleasing book displays. It looked warm and inviting; a place where you could enjoy your readings and engage in conversation. Harriet’s Bookshop is the name and spreading love for Black authors and inspiring generations through art and literature is their game.

The photo that grabbed my attention (via Harriet's Bookshop facebook page)

Harriet’s Bookshop honors Harriet Tubman in name and in spirit. Located in Philly, the bookstore’s mission is to celebrate women authors, women artists, and women activists. The owner, Jeannine Cook, was originally from Hampton, Virginia before heading to Philadelphia for school. In a recent article, she talks a little bit about what drew her to the city and what experiences drove her to name her shop after the abolitionist and civil war heroine.

“As a millennial black woman, it doesn’t fit the narrative — like I don’t think I’m supposed to be able to [open a bookshop]. But there are a lot of things I’m not supposed to be able to do. I’m not supposed to be able to take my son with me to class every day. And I think that’s why I think I’m like Harriet Tubman. I’m a rebellious spirit, determined to do what I think is going to support people and their freedom.”

As a young mother myself, I resonated with her thoughts. Why are young women, and really women in general, subject to the same foolish notions that children equal the death of all our dreams or hinder our abilities? Ambition is not selfish!

Her dedication to community is evident in both her background in education and how her bookstore dedicates its space to local artists and writers with rotating displays. Not only is a brick-and-mortar bookstore a welcomed space in an age of fast shipping and digital reading, but it’s a space with intention and hope. Take a look at the facebook page or twitter account and you are met with news articles, happy birthdays, event postings, and the occasional hard talks. The social media platforms attached to the bookstore are filled with heartfelt messages and important conversations. It is more than a physical place; it’s a whole vibe, it’s a whole movement. Not only does she foster a warm and positive space, she is also dedicated to “healing” her visitors through the use of frankincense in the shop.

I love seeing spaces dedicated to art and literature as I believe they are fundamental in fostering understanding of oneself and others. A friend and I dream of opening a community space for artists to convene and while a gallery or studio is not exactly the safe as a bookshop, Jeannine’s fiery enthusiasm and spirit for community through the arts is the inspirational figure I needed to discover. The she is a regular person, just like me and you, makes her impact on the immediate and outreaching community even better. Like the actions of our own teachers, small business owners, and neighbors, her actions and words have a silent rippling effect. Her small deeds are influencing younger generations and giving older generations a space and time to feel comfortable and heard. She’s a champion of her own mission and I think that’s what makes her special. She’s an extraordinary ordinary and an example of what we can all do if we have the heart and passion for it.

With covid-19, many small and independent businesses need our help! If you’d like to support Jeannine’s mission and Harriet’s Bookshop, you can view the shop’s collection of books by going here: https://bookshop.org/shop/harriettsbookshop as well as their merchandise here: https://conversationswithharriett.bigcartel.com/

As always, tips, likes, and shares are always appreciated and be sure to check out the link below to Harriet’s Bookshop! Enjoy reading!

Website: https://www.harriettsbookshop.com/

business
4

About the Creator

Nicole K

she/her

artist, art history grad student, single mom

just a human trying to figure it all out...again

tips / likes / shares always appreciated friends!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.